## Pacific Reps Gathering &

High-level delegates from 19 countries and territories are coming to Guam this week for the 13th South Pacific Commission conference.

A number of long-term projects of regional interest which the commission may undertake will be among the items on the agenda — a possible project on nutrition, particularly that of infants and children; another on the composition of South Pacific foods; another on fish poisoning; others on agriculture and fisheries.

The secretary general of

the commission, G.F.D. Betham, arrived here last week. Chairman of the conference is Lt. Gov. Kurt Moylan and Hosea Kirifi from Tokelau Islands is deputy chairman.

In addition to the formal meetings at the Guam Hilton Hotel, delegates will be guests at receptions hosted by Gov. Camacho and Moylan. The meetings are to conclude a week from Friday.

The commission, which serves as an advisory group to its members, covers Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia. Four million

people live within the commission's area, which extends over a region of something like 12 million square miles.

The group was established in 1947 by representatives of Australia, France, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the U.S. to encourage cooperation in health, economic and social welfare matters for people of the Pacific.

The Netherlands, no longer administering a territory in the area, has since withdrawn, and Western Samoa, Nauru and Fiji have been admitted as full members.

Headquarters of the commission is at Noumea, New Caledonia; this is the first time since the meetings began that the members have met above the equator.

Most funds available to the commission are contributed by participating governments according to agreed proportions.

Decisions and recommendations to be made at the Guam conference will be submitted to representatives of the member governments, who then discuss ways of financing recommended projects.

Principal officers of SPC are Secretary General Betham; Dr. Guy Loison, director of health; Alan Harris, director of economics, and Dr. Frank Mahony, social program director.

Leaders of the participating countries and territories are: Senator Don Wills, Australia; Jone D. Naisara, Fiji; H. Nettre, France; Buraro Detudamo, Nauru; J.A. Walding, New Zealand; E.N. Larmour, CMG, United Kingdom; William B. Taylor, III, U.S.A.; and Iulai Toma, Western Samoa.

Also attending the conference may be delegates from American Samoa; British Solomon Islands Protectorate, Cook Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony, Guam, Nauru, New Caledonia and Dependencies, New Hebrides, Niue, Norfolk Island, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Island, Tokelau Tonga, Trust Islands Territory of the Pacific Islands, Wallis and Futunaand Western Samoa.