10 (- 44

TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PACIFIC ISLANDS

Office of the High Commissioner, Saipan

03

TO

See distribution

DATE:

NOV 3 0 1973

FROM

High Commissioner

SUBJECT:

Establishment of the Task Force on Education for Self-Government

This officially establishes the Task Force on the program of Education for Self-Government which was approved in a meeting held early last month in Honolulu between members of the U.S. Status Delegation and representatives of the Joint Committee on Future Status of the Congress of Micronesia. This Task Force shall consist of the following officials:

- 1. Strik Yoma, Chairman
- 2. Augustine Moses, First Vice Chairman
- 3. George Callison, Second Vice Chairman
- 4. Sam McPhetres, Member
- 5. Jim Kleist, Member
- 6. Daiziro Nakamura, Member
- 7. Raymond Ulochong, Member
- 8. Bonifacio Basilius, Member
- 9. Gerald Craddock, Member
- 10. Elias Thomas, Member
- 11. Frank Camacho, Member
- 12. William Jackson, Member
- 13. Patrick Mangar, Member

To ensure that this Task Force has access to the best advice and guidance available in this administration, I am appointing the following officials as advisors to the Task Force:

Dwight Heine
N. Neiman Craley, Jr.
William Oyler
David Ramarui
Joseph Oakey

Boyd Mackenzie James Manke William Allen Gerald MacPherson Leonard Kaufer

These advisors shall be provided with all proposals, position papers, and any documents produced by the Task Force and as advisors they shall be free to provide comments and/or suggestions to the Task Force at any time. Written comments from any of the advisors shall

be addressed to the Task Force Chairman who shall see to it that such comments are reproduced in sufficient quantity for distribution to all Task Force members and the other advisors.

By this memorandum all District Administrators are invited to take the necessary action to establish similar agencies as appropriate which shall have the responsibility of coordinating this program at the district level.

All participants in this program are urged to cooperate to the fullest extent possible to help make this a viable program of education for self-government.

Edward E. Johnston

Distribution:

All Directors

All Immediate Staff

All District Administrators

All Division Chiefs

Congress of Micronesia

Chief Justice