SUIMARY OF THE FIRST SESSION OF THE JOINT LAND COMMITTEE OF THE HARLANAS STATUS NEGOTIATIONS

From July 15, 1974 through July 17, 1974, the U. S. - M.P.S.C. Joint Land Committee, created during the Marianas status negotiations, met in the Conference Room at Headquarters, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Saipan, Mariana Islands.

The members of the committee for the United

States were James M. Wilson, Jr., Chairman; Emmett

M. Rice, Vice-Chairman; Joseph Samaratano representing

Roy Markon; and Lieutenant Colonel Walter Appelle representing

Bernard Dove. Representing the State Department

was David Schiele, Deputy Liaison Officer. The members

of the committee from the Marianas Political Status

Commission were Pedro A. Tenorio, representative from

Saipan, Chairman; Jose R. Cruz, representative from

Tinian; and Benjamín Manglona, representative from

Rota. Additionally present were Daniel Muna, member;

and James E. White, Executive Director and legal council.

As a result of this three-day session, the following was accomplished:

- Terms of Reference were adopted for the
 S. M.P.S.C. Joint Land Committee.
 - A tentative agenda was discussed.

- paragraph IV(A) of the Terms of Reference should begin immediately by the U. 3. Government, and provisions were made for inclusion of a Marianas Political Status Commission observer.
- 4. A format of a letter from James M. Wilson,

 Jr. to Pedro A. Tenorio requesting assistance in acquisition

 of necessary entry permits was presented and approved.
- 5. A schedule of future times and places of meetings was tentatively approved.
- 6. It was agreed that the next working session would begin on either July 31 or August 1 (1974) in Honolulu or Saipan.