RICHARD H. WILMER
LLOYD N. CUTLER
JOHN H PICKERING
MANUEL F. COHEN
HUGH R. H. SMITH
LOUIS F. OBERDORFER
J. ROGER WOLLENBERG
CHARLES C. GLOVER. III
MARSHALL HORNBLOWER
HENRY T. RATHBUN
REUBEN CLARK
SAMUEL J. LANAHAN
WILLIAM R. PERLIK
SAMUEL J. LANAHAN
WILLIAM R. PERLIK
SAMUEL J. LANAHAN
WILLIAM R. PERLIK
SAMUEL A. STERN
ARNOLD M. LERMAN
ROBERT P. STRANAHAN, JR.
MAX O. TRUITT. JR.
JOEL ROSENBLOOM
HOWARD P. WILLEN
MAY DAVID
R. ANDERSON
J. RODERICH HELLER. III
DANIEL K. MAYERS
TIMOTHY B. DYK
DAVID R. ANDERSON
J. RODERICK HELLER. III
ARTHUR F. MATHEWS
JAMES S. CAMPBELL
DENNIS M. FLANNERY
DANIEL MARCUS
JAMES S. CAMPBELL
DENNIS M. FLANNERY
DANIEL R. KLEIN
STEPHEN A. WEISWASSER
EZEKIEL G. STODDARD
ALFRED E. DAVIDSON
GERARD C. SMITH
COUNSEL

01/8

Cong Wel.

WILMER, CUTLER & PICKERING

1666 K STREET, N. W. WASHINGTON, D. C. 20006

CABLE ADDRESS: WICRING WASH., D. C.
INTERNATIONAL TELEX: 440-239
TELEX: 89-2402
TELEPHONE 202-872-6000

EUROPEAN OFFICE

5, CHEAPSIDE
LONDON, EC2V 6AA, ENGLAND
TELEPHONE 01-236-2401
TELEX: 851 883242
CABLE ADDRESS: WICRING, LONDON

August 5, 1974

RICHARD A. ALLEN
PETER A. BELL
PETER D. BEWLEY
STEPHEN F. BLACK
TIMOTHY N. BLACK
MICHAEL L. BURACK
BARRY E. CARTER
RICHARD W. CASS
BARRY O. CHASE
MICHELE B. CORASH
WILLIAM A. DIETCH
JAMES R. FARRAND
ROBERT A. GERARD
C. BOYDEN GRAY
FRANCES M. GREEN
RODALD J. GREENE
ROBERT C. HACKER
ALLEN H. HARRISON, JR.
MICHAEL S. HELFER
CHARLES E. HILL
C. LORING JETTON, JR.
DAVID R. JOHNSON
SALLY KATZEN
ROBERT K. KELLEY

NEIL J. KING
JOHN H. KORNS
NOEL ANKETELL KRAMER
F. DAVID LAKE, JR.
WILLIAM T. LAKE
JAY F. LAPIN
CARY B. LERMAN
ROBERT B. MCCAW
MARY A. MCREYNOLDS
A. DOUGLAS MELAMED
DAVID E. MENDTTI
PAUL J. MODE. JR.
ROBERT R. MORRIS
DANIEL D. POLSEY
STEPHEN B. PRESSER
PHILLIP RADOFF
JOHN ROUNSAVILLE, JR.
DEANNE C. SIEMER
THEODORE S. SIMS
J. B. STEPHENS
DOUGLAS G. THOMPSON, J
VAUGHN C. WILLIAMS
GARY D. WILSON
WALTER T. WINSLOW, JR.

Senator Edward DLG. Pangelinan Chairman Marianas Political Status Commission P. O. Box 977 Saipan, Mariana Islands 96950

Dear Senator Pangelinan:

As you may know, the U. S. House of Representatives is presently considering changes in the organization of its committees. I have recently reviewed the pending proposals to determine how these changes might affect the House's consideration of the Marianas status agreement.

The Select Committee on Committees, commonly known as the Bolling Committee, issued its report several months ago. So far as relevant to the status agreement, the Bolling Committee recommended that the name of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs be changed to the Committee on Energy and the Environment, and that jurisdiction over territories be transferred out of the Committee on Energy and the Environment to the Committee on Government Operations. Members of Congress who sat on a committee which has a "signficant portion" of its jurisdiction transferred would be permitted to follow the jurisdiction to a new committee, with their seniority receiving "meaningful recognition" on the new committee.

The recommendations of the Bolling Committee were quite extensive and another committee known as the Hansen Committee, was established by the Democratic Caucus to review them. Under the Hansen Committee recommendations, the name of

1

the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs would be changed to the Committee on Interior, Energy and Natural Resources. This new committee, however, would lose none of the jurisdiction of the present Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs. Thus, jurisdiction over territories would remain where it is now. However, the new Committee on Interior, Energy and Natural Resources would obtain a significant amount of new jurisdiction, particularly over civilian nuclear energy matters.

It is not easy to assess the effect of these proposals on the status agreement. Under the Bolling Committee's recommendations, the status agreement would presumably be referred to the newly established Territories Subcommittee of the Government Operations Commitee. Whether Congressman Burton and others presently on the Interior Committee's Subcommittee on Territories would transfer to this new Subcommittee cannot be predicted. Under the Hansen Committee's recommendations, the status agreement would, we assume, be referred to the existing Subcommittee on Territories. The composition of that Subcommittee, and even the chairmanship, might change, however, because new Subcommittees might be formed to handle the Committee's new jurisdiction.

In view of the demands of impeachment, the backlog of pending legislation, and the upcoming election, there seems to be a serious question whether any fundamental changes in committee structure will be made by the House in the immediate future. We will, of course, continue to follow this matter because of its obvious importance to the Commission.

With best regards,

Michael S. Helfer

Sincerely

cc: Howard P. Willens, Esq.