COM Group Files Action

SAIPAN (COM)—Thirteen members of the Congress of Micronesia (COM) filed a complaint Monday against Trust Territory Attorney General Richard I. Miyamoto in the TT fligh Court on Saipan.

All but one of the plaintiffs are members of COM's Joint Committee on Future Status.

The complaint seeks to compel three employes of the TT Resources and Development Department to provide the status committee with documents relating to testimony they gave in Washington, D.C. about TT public lands.

The three are Kozo Yamada, Maynard Neas and Emmett Rice, all employes of the department's Division of Lands and Surveys. They testified before the Office of Micronesian Status Negotiations in Washington.

Yamada, Neas and Rice were subpoensed in July to testify before a subcommittee of the COM's Joint Committee on Future Status. Their refusal to answer questions about their Washington testimony, the 13 plaintiffs contend, constitutes contempt of the Congress of Micronesia.

The complaint also charges that TT Attorney General Miyamoto was prejudiced in his handling of the matter, since he acted as legal counsel for the three Resources and Development employes and refused to prosecute them.

Miyamoto has contended that there was no contempt of Congress. The 13 plaintiffs seek to have a special prosecutor appointed to prosecute Yamada, Neas, and Rice.

Filing the complaint were: Sen. Lazarus Salii, Chariman of the Joint Committee on Future Status; Bethwel Henry, speaker of the House; Tosiwo Nakayama, president of the Senate; and 10 other members of the Congress, Sens. Andon Amaraich, Petrus Tun, Ambilos Iehsi, Bailey Olter, Edward Pangelinan, John Mangefel and Roman Tmetuchl, and Reps. Ataji Balos, Herman Q. Guerrero and Ekpap Silk.

All except Speaker Henry are members of the Joint Committee on Future Status.