FRIENDS FOR THE COMMONWEALTH
OF THE NORTHERN MARIANAS
P. O. Box 802
Saipan, Mariana Islands 96950

191) 191)

01

Since the United States has taken the responsibility for the administration of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, the people of the Northern Marianas have learned to appreciate the goals and ideals for which America stands, such as the Bill of Rights, the dignity of man, and the democratic principles of government that insure life and liberty for all. As a result of this appreciation, the people of the Northern Marianas have for the last twenty (20) years been trying to become a part of the American political family.

Several years ago the United States Government expressed its desire to support the dialogue of the people of the Northern Marianas relative to their future political aspirations and as a result serious comprehensive political status negotiations were entered into between the United States and the Marianas Political Status Commission.

As a result of these negotiations, the people of the Northern Marianas and the United States Government reached an agreement and signed the Covenant to Establish a Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas in Political Union with the United States of America. This document will be presented to the people for their final approval or dissapproval in a plebiscite to be held on June 17, 1975. In order to continue to carry out a non-partisan comprehensive program of political education we, the FRIENDS FOR THE COMMONWEALTH OF THE NORTHERN MARIANAS, have embarked on a course to persuade our people that the Covenant

is indeed the most beneficial and enduring relationship for the people of our islands. We are presently confronted with serious opposition from various sectors in the Trust Territory who hope to frustrate the desire of our people in achieving their long held desire to become a part of the United States. Recently, this organized opposition received a considerable sum of money for this particular purpose. We do not wish to impose on anyone in our endeavor to achieve our political aspirations; however, this recent well financed opposition in our islands indicates that without similar financial support it will be most difficult to succeed at the polls.

We respectfully solicit your financial support to assist the FRIENDS FOR THE COMMONWEALTH OF THE NORTHERN MARIANAS so that we can give our people the kind of political education that would assure a favorable decision in the forthcoming plebiscite to be held this June. The FRIENDS FOR THE COMMONWEALTH OF THE NORTHERN MARIANAS is a group of dedicated leaders representing a wide cross section of the Marianas community.

We can assure you that whatever support you give us will be used towards the single objective of carrying on a comprehensive political education program so that our people will be able to make an intelligent decision and support the Covenant to Establish a Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas in Political Union with the United States of America. Your assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely yours,

Dr. Francisco T. Palacios

President

The FRIENDS FOR THE COMMONWEALTH OF THE NORTHERN MARIANAS is a non-political, non-profit organization of leaders and concerned citizens of the Mariana Islands District whose main objective is to promote political advancement for the people of the Marianas toward achieving their political aspiration to become a Commonwealth of the United States of America. The following is a list of the officers, directors and members of the FRIENDS FOR THE COMMONWEALTH OF THE NORTHERN MARIANAS:

OFFICERS

Dr. Francisco T. Palacios, President Senator Pedro A. Tenorio, Secretary Congressman Carlos A. Shoda, Treasurer

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Congressman Lorenzo I. Guerrero Congressman Jesus V. Guerrero Mr. Benjamin T. Manglona Congressman Juan LG. Cabrera

<u>MEMBERS</u>

Olympio T. Borja Senator from Marianas Congress of Micronesia

Edward DLG. Pangelinan Chairman, Marianas Political Status Commission

Vicente D. Sablan Mayor Municipality of Saipan

Juan LG. Cabrera Vice President Marianas District Legislature

Julian S. Calvo Marianas District Legislature

Juan C. Diaz Marianas District Legislature

Santiago B. Magofna Marianas District Legislature Herman R. Guerrero Representative from Marianas Congress of Micronesia

Vicente N. Santos President, Marianas District Legislature

Vicente T. Camacho Speaker Saipan Legislature

Joaquin I. Pangelinan Vice Speaker Saipan Legislature

Francisco M. Diaz Marianas District Legislature

Ricardo R. Duenas Marianas District Legislature

Herman M. Manglona Marianas District Legislature Marcelino M. Manglona Marianas District Legislature

Manuel D. Muna Marianas District Legislature

Felixberto M. Ogo Marianas District Legislature

Jose R. Cruz

Benjamin T. Manglona

Joannes Taimanao

Pedro R. Guerrero

Joaquin S. Torres

Antonio A. Santos

Jose R. Guerrero

Gregorio C. Cabrera

Leon T. Camacho

Antonio R. Sablan

Alfonso Borja

Joaquin B. Pangelinan

Jose Q. Lizama

Antonia Guerrero

Teresa Ichiharą

Juan LG. Demapan

Maria Guerrero

Lorenzo LG. Cabrera

Jose Sablan

Lucia A. Guerrero

Joaquin D. Cepeda

Daniel T. Muna Marianas District Legislature

Juan I. Mettao Marianas District Legislature

Jesus V. Guerrero Marianas District Legislature

Bernard V. Hofschneider

Manuel A. Sablan

Herman Q. Guerrero

Joaquin P. Villanueva

Joaquin B. Cruz

Albert S. Camacho

Gonzalo Q. Santos

Escolastica T. Cabrera

Roman T. Tudela

Silvestre T. Cruz

Leonardo Diaz

Magdalena DLG. Pangelinan

Gregorio Quitugua

Frances S. Pangelinan

Juan Sanchez

Dulce G. Pangelinan

Conception D. Cabrera

Luise Sablan

Rita B. Camacho

Fernando M. Benavente

Juan Guerrero

Alejandro Barcinas

Victorino T. Borja

Guadalupe A. Deleon Guerrero

Efrain B. Matsunaga

Jose Norita

Joise Palacios

Rudy M. Sablan

Carlos C. Villagomez

Juan Tudela

Regina D. Guerrero

James E. White

Janet Tenorio

Gonzalo DLG. Pangelinan

Juan A. Sablan

Juaquin Q. Atalig

Felipe Q. Atalig

Victorino S. Cepeda

Jose Sn. Ichihara

William B. Nabors

Herman T. Palacios

Vicente R. Sablan

Ignacio M. Sablan

Esabel P. Villagomez

Francisco LG. Demapan

Margarita Q. Boyer

Antonio C. Tenorio

Manuel Sablan

Pedro DLG. Pangelinan

Isidro A. Sablan

Ana Cruz