on an serion	- AIRGRAM P760 1 6 4 - 1 6 0 4 10					
EUR CA NEA CU		T				
INR F. P/1 10	- FILE DESIGNATION	-				
L PRO AID SY	UNCLASSIFIED A-15					
\$'IL SCI	TO Department of State INFO : CINCPACREPGUAM/TTPI; CINCPAC; COGFOURTEEN; USUN; AMEMBASSY TOKYO; AMEMBASSY PORT MORESBY					
	DEPT PASS: INTERIOR FOR DOTA AND OMSN CINCPAC FOR POLAD	110				
AGR COM FRB INT	FROM : Status LNO Saipan DATE: 3 October 1976 E.O.11652: N/A					
LAB TAR TR XMB	SUBJECT : PINT, TQ Northern Marianas ConCon Elections					
AIR ARMY NAVY OSD	REF : A. Status LNO 099 B. Status LNO 128					
USIA NSA CIA DOT		No and A				
STR HEW	TR HEW Elections for delegates to the Marianas Constitutional Convention (CONCON) were finally held on October 3. The bill creating the					
	CONCON stipulated that the election be non-partisan and hence the ballot showed no party affiliations for the condidates, but the					
SUGGESTED DISTRIBUTION						
	On Saipan Territorial Party candidates won 14 seats, while the Popular Party won 11. The results are similar to the Saipan					
	municipal elections of last June in which the territorials captured 13 of 15 seats where they had previously held no seats. With the					
88	elections for the Northern Mariana Islands Legislature coming up on					
. 5 198 	November 2, also to be on an at-large basis, most observers expect the Territorials to continue their string of election victories. The legislature is currently controlled by the Popular Party.					
AN L	on Rota, the Territorials won all eight seats and on Tinian the					
split was three Territorials and two Popular. Thus the full CONCON will consist of 25 delegates affiliated with the Territorial Party						
SONAS	and 14 Affiliated with the Popular Party (Including one Territorial from the Northern Islands).					
The final version of the CONCON bill called for at-large elections A He final version of the CONCON bill called for at-large elections A He final version of the CONCON bill called for at-large elections						
DC RE	Commissioner would then be allowed to appoint up to three Carolinians to assure them at least minimal representation. However, the final	6154				
BY DSC DSC	$\stackrel{(a)}{=}$ results show that three Carolinians were elected so the Resident					
WED Nr X VH SE H SE I	Commissioner will not be called on to appoint anyone. Provision for					
REVIEWED RDSCor X TS AUTH. ENDORSE DECLASSI RELEASE	UNCLASSIFIED					
	List the Drafting Date: Phone No.: Contents and Classification Approved by:	- 化学学				
Status LNO:GN		- 1.0.5				
		16 11 DIS 23 AV				
Clearances;						
and the second						

## UNCLASS IFIED

2

guaranteed Carolinian representation at the CONCON had stirred up great controversy between the Resident Commissioner and the Popular Partydominated legislature during the passage of the bill creating the CONCON (reftels).

The actual campaigning focused on local political issues and personalities so there is little indication of what the details of the Constitution will be. Many candidates spoke of such unrelated matters as scholarship funding and increased public services while others were extravagant in their promises of how they would structure the future government. Several seemed unaware or ignored the fact that the main structure of the Constitution is already laid out in the Commonwealth Covenant and so the real options facing the delegates are already limited. By and large, the delegates selected were young and well educated with many being new-comers to elected office. Many of the old faces in Northern Marianas politics were defeated while others were elected by in rrow margins.

The CONCON is scheduled to begin October 18 and will last for fifty days.

## BENNETT

Enclosure: CON CON Election Winners

05 - 421142

UNCLASS 1F1 ED

Page 2 - MARIANAS VARIETY NEWS & VIEWS - October 4, 1976

## CON CON ELECTION WINNERS

1.	Larry I. Guerrero	-	2372	(T)
2.	Oscar C. Rasa	-	2354	(1)
3.	Juan P. Tenorio	-	2203	(T)
4.	David Q. Maratita	-	2191	( <u>p</u> )
5.	Carlos S. Camacho		2128	(P)
6.	Ramon G. Villagomez		2125	(P)
7.	Olympio T. Borja	-	2119	(P)
8.	Manuel A. Tenorio	-	2102	<b>(</b> T <b>)</b>
9.	Juan S. Demapan	-	2098	<b>(</b> T)
10.	Jesus G. Villagomez	-	2086	(P)
11.	Herman Q. Guerrero	-	2039	(P)
12.		-	2024	(T)
13.	Vicente T. Attao	-	2020	(T)
14.	Joe P. Mafnas	-	2012	(T)
15.		-	2009	(T)
16.	Felix A. Ayuyu	-	2009	(9)
17.		-	2001	(Ť)
	Joe S. Borja	-	1945	(P)
19.	-		1936	(T)
20.	Benigno R. Fitlal	-	1920	(T)
21.	3	-	1921	(P)
	Felipe Q. Atalig	-	1901	(T)
	Antonio M. Camacho	_	1895	(P)
23.			1884	(P)
	-	_	1859	(T)
25.	Luis M. Limes	-	1019	(1)
		ROTA		
1	Penierie Mersten		<b>.</b>	
1.	Benjamin Manglona	-	344	(T)
2.	Gregorio Calvo	~	312	<b>(</b> T)
3.	Prudencio Manglona	-	305	(T)
4.	Pedro Atalig	-	274	(T)
5.	David Atalig	-	265	(T)
6.	Pedro Dela Cruz	-	260	(T)
7.	Leon Taisacan	-	259	(T)
8.	Pedro Ogo	-	235	(Т)
			1	
		TINIAN		•
1.	Vicente Manglona	-	265	(T)
2.	Hilario Ding	-	243	(1) (1)
3.	Stephen King	_	239	(T)
4.	Henry Hofschinieder	_	219	(T) (T)
5.	Jose R. Cruz	-	185	(T) (P)
		-	103	(r)

05-421143