

THE INTERNATIONAL LEAGUE FOR HAND RIGHTS (tormerly The International League for the Rights of Man)

777 United Nations Plaza New York, N.Y. 10017 Tel. (212) 972-9554 Cable HUMRIGHTS, N.Y. National affiliates and correspondents around the world.

In consultative status with the United Nations, UNESCO. ILO and Council of Europe.

April 5, 1977

0)

Mr. Guy Scalabre President of the Trusteeship Council United Nations New York, N.Y. 10017

Dear Mr. President:

We are writing in support of the Petition from Messrs. Tosiwo Nakayama, President of the Senate, and Bethwel Henry, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Congress of Micronesia, concerning the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands. That Petition has been circulated as Doc. T/PET.10/-109, dated 25 January 1977. It concerns the activities of the United States Central Intelligence Agency in conducting electronic surveillance of representatives of the Trust Teritory of the Pacific Islands as outlined in an article in the Washington Post of 12 December 1976.

You will recall that on 30 June 1976 the League presented a petition concerning the Trust Territory (see U.N. Docs.T/PV.1452 and T/PV.1453). We asked the Council to express its disapproval of the efforts of the Administering Authority to establish a new colonial territory in the Northern Mariana Islands. We asked the Council to take a firm position in favor of the unity of the territory. We expressed our suspicion that the United States was engaging in a classical colonial exercise in divide and rule.

Our suspicions seem to have been confirmed. We refer in particular to the comments of Paul C. Warnke quoted towards the end of the Washington Post article which is annexed to the Micronesian Petition T/PET.10/109: "The reported surveillance was 'completely immoral, overreaching and taking advantage of the other side.' If the purpose was to divide the Micronesians, it apparently suceeded, he said, noting the separate agreement negotiated with the Marianas."

•••/•••

17856

Honorary Presidents Roger N. Baldwin René Cassin (1887-1976) Gunnar Myrdal

Honorary Vice-Presidents
Fenner Brockway
Jan Papanek
Andrei D. Sakharov
Board of Directors

President Jerome J. Shestack

Vice-Presidents
Frances R. Grant
William vanden Heuvel

Secretary
Nina Ferrero Raditsa

Associate Secretary
Bruce Rabb

Treasurer Maxwell Dane

Associate Treasurers
Jack David
Barbara L. Greenfield

Morris B. Abram Richard Arens Patricia Barnes Robert L. Bernstein William J. Butler David Carliner Valery Chalidze Eugenio Chang-Rodriguez Msgr. John G. Clancy Gloster B. Current Samuel Dash Richard N. Gardner Bryant George Jack Greenberg Feliks Gross Rita Hauser Dorothy Hibbert Philip Hoffman John P. Humphrey Florence Kandeli Sylvia Kaye Jerzy Kosinski Sidney Liskofsky James Loeb Suzanne Massie Charles Maynes Benjamin F. McLaurin Alva Myrdal George Obiozor Adamantia Poilis Bogdan Raditsa Andrei D. Sakharov Harrison Salisbury Alexander Salzman Tony Smythe Harris Wolford

Counsel
José A. Cabranes
Robert Delson
Sheldon Stewart
Executive Director

Roberta Cohen

International Advisory Committee

S.O. Adebo Peter Archer German Archniegas J. Jimenez de Arechaga Luis Maria Boffi Boggero Angie Brucks-Randelph Rafaol Caldera O. Edmund Clubb Italm Cohn Canon L. John Collins Fernand Dehousse Hermann L. Desir Gonzalo Facio Nasrollah S. Faterni Per Federspiel José Figueres Georges Fischer Sir Senerat Gunawardene Donald Harrington V.R. Haya de la Torre Theodore M. Hesburgh Philip C. Jessup Victoria Kent C.N. Ahmad Khan Edward Kune Jean-Flavien Lative Arthur Lall

Arthur Larson
Pavel Litvinov
Benjamin Laureano Luna
Scan MacBride
Ronald St. John Macdonald
Salvador de Madariaga
Charles Malik
Luis Muñoz Marin
Philip Nool-Baker

Alan Paton Giorgio La Pira José Portuondo y de Castro Victor Reuther Lord Ritchie-Calder Luis Alberto Sanchez Walter Schuppich Egon Schwolb Michael Scott J.J. Singh Mario Soares Julius Stono Stefan Trechsel Marietta Tree Barend van Niekerk Theodor Verter Basil Vlavianos Seong Hi Yim We hope that the Council will carefully consider the Micronesian petition and the enclosure thereto in relation to its consideration both of the Marianas Commonwealth and of the territory-wide negotiations which will presumably be renewed in the near future. Specifically, we endorse the recommendations made in the petition of Messrs. Nakayama and Henry, dated 27 December 1976:

- "1. That you, as president of the Council, request ...an opinion of the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs as to the legal implications of the Administering Authority conducting electronic surveillance against Micronesians; whether, indeed, the Administering Authority has violated the provisions of the Trusteeship Agreement;
- "2. That the Council be prepared to discuss this issue during its forty-fourth session, and to take a position with regard to past surveillance activities; and
- "3. That the Council request the Administering Authority during the forty-fourth session to deliver a policy statement to the Council with regards to its position on surveillance of Micronesians in the future."

We are also anxious that the Council examine at the earliest opportunity the fragmentation now taking place in Micronesia as a direct consequence of United States indulgence of the secessionist movement in the northern Mariana Islands. It is our understanding that separate status negotiations with the U.S. have now been asked for by representatives of the Marshall Islands and by representatives of Palau, and that still other island groupings in the Trust Territory are seeking separate political arrangements with the United States. It seems entirely likely that efforts will be made in the foreseeable future to establish additional "unincorporated territories" or colonies of the U.S. in Micronesia.

We certainly hope that despite the Council's current membership—namely, the U.S., the United Kingdom, France and the U.S.S.R. (and non-active China)—it will perform

Mr. Guy Scalabre, Trusteeship Council

its duty under the United Nations Charter in order to assure due consideration of these matters. We have addressed a similar petition to the Special Committee on the Situation with Regard to the Implementation of the Declaration of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples.

We respectfully request that this communication be circulated to the members of the Trusteeship Council as a United Nations document and look forward to your prompt reply.

Yours sincerely,

Roger N. Baldwin

Honorary President

Roger S. Clark

Special Consultant

Jerome J. Shestack

President

José A. Cabranes

Counsel