## PROPOSED AMENDMENT TO ARTICLE II, SECTION 3

It is proposed that article II, section 3 of the draft Constitution be amended to read as follows:

## Section 3: Composition of the House of Representatives

- a) The house of representatives shall consist of thirty

  nineteen members representatives with twenty-five sixteen members

  representatives from Saipan and the islands north of Saipan, three two

  members representatives from Rota and two one member representative from

  Tinian and Agiguan. provided, howevery-that The number of representatives

  may be increased by law to not more than forty twenty-five. The term of

  office for representative shall be two years.
- e) b) For purposes of electing representatives Rota shall constitute one electoral district, Tinian and Agiguan shall constitute one electoral district, and Saipan and the islands north of Saipan shall constitute one-electoral districts, and Saipan shall-be-divided-into six electoral districts for-the-election-of-representatives. The legislature may change the number and boundaries of the such electoral districts only uses-for electing-representatives-but-no-district-on-Rota-and-Saipan-shall-eonsist-of more-than-one-island---For-ten-years-following-the-effective-date-of-this Constitution, the-legislature-shall-not-ehange-the-electoral-districts-on Saipan-and-the-islands-north-of-Saipan except pursuant to its duties under section 4 of this article. When the population of the islands north of Saipan

equals or exceeds the number of persons represented by any member of the house of representatives these islands shall constitute a separate district electing one representative.

b) c) A representative shall be a qualified voter to vote in the Commonwealth, a-Wnited-States-eitizen-or-national, at least twenty-one years of age, and a resident and domiciliary of the Commonwealth for at least three years immediately preceding his election. A longer residency and domicile requirement may be provided by law.

Offered by,

Jose P. Mafnas
on behalf of the
Governmental Institutions
Committee