

## SECOND NORTHERN MARIANAS CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION

**SAIPAN, CM 96950** 

Telephone 6517/6572

## Officers

Herman T. Guerrero, President Vicente M. Calvo, 1st Vice President David M. Cing, 2nd Vice President Maria T. Pangelinan, 3rd Vice President William B. Nabors, Convention Secretary Juan T. Lizama, Floor Leader

August 1, 1985

## Members

Lorenzo I. Deleon Guerrero Alonzo Igisomar David L. Igitol Rita H. Inos Benusto R. Kaipat Esteven M. King Luis M. Limes Jesus P. Mafnas Paui A. Manglona James M. Mendiola Aniceto H. Mundo Felicidad T. Ogumoro Karl T. Reyes Joaquin A. Tenorio Francisco Tomokane William S. Torres Ramon G. Villagomez Ignacio Villanueva

The Honorable Pedro P. Tenorio Governor of the Northern Mariana Islands Saipan, CM 96950



Dear Governor Tenorio:

Thank you for providing me with a copy of House Bill No. 262, Post Constitutional Convention Committee, which you signed into law on July 31, 1985 as Public Law No. 4-52.

Pursuant to Section 4 of the Public Law, the former President of the Second Northern Mariana Islands Constitutional Convention is to submit to the Governor a list containing at least ten names of former delegates from which the Governor may select and appoint a five-member Post Constitutional Convention Committee.

The Post Constitutional Convention Committee has the responsibility of designing and implementing a strategy of public education and of working closely with the Board of Elections and the Legislature to prepare a ballot which shall contain amendments recommended by the Second Northern Mariana Islands Constitutional Convention. Also, the Committee is required to assist with the drafting of an analysis of those proposed amendments. Members of the Post Constitutional Convention Committee must be capable, tolerant, fair, forceful and uniquely experienced at locating and utilizing limited human resources.

Resolution No. 13, adopted by the Second Northern Mariana Islands Constitutional convention on July 22, 1985 and transmitted to your office in a communique dated July 25, 1985, establishing a Post Constitutional Convention Committee, includes the names of nine former delegates.

As the former President of the Second Northern Mariana Islands Constitutional Convention, I have experienced the valuable contributions of all of the twenty-three former delegates and I would be pleased to recommend any or all of them to you for appointment to the Post Constitutional Convention Commuttee. In my opinion, all are equally

Honorable . ro P. Tenorio August 01, 1985 Page 2

capable. However, in compliance with Public Law No. 4-52, and in the intent of Resolution No. 13, I am pleased to submit herewith a list of names arranged with the first five names representative of my first choices for a strong group of committee members. I strongly recommend that one member selected be admitted to practice law in the Commonwealth. It is for this reason that I have included the name of one such person in my list of first five choices. The entire list is arranged to assist you in making your committee selection and is not to limit or exclude any of the former delegates.

The first five names represent former delegates who, throughout the convention, demonstrated not only the capability to be objective but also the ability to be forceful and the tolerance to be fair. This group of former delegates could galvanize the committee, other former delegates and the general public for the educational good needed between now and the November elections.

If I can be of further assistance in this matter, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely

Herman T. Guerrero

President

Enclosure

## Post Constitutional Convention Committee Selection List

1. David M. Cing Tinian

2. Rita H. Inos Rota

3. Jesus P. Mafnas Saipan

4. Felicidad T. Ogumoro Carolinian/Women

5. Ramon G. Villagomez Saipan

6. Vincent M. Calvo Rota

7. Lorenzo I Guerrero Saipan

8. Juan T. Lizama Saipan

9. William B. Nabors Tinian

10. William S. Torres Saipan