INTERIM RULES OF PROCEDURE FOR THE THIRD NORTHERN MARIANAS CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION

Adopted June 5, 1995

1. <u>Order of Business</u>. The order of business at the first session of the Convention shall be as follows:

- 1. Call to Order;
- 2. National and Commonwealth Anthem;
- 3. Invocation;
- 4. Roll Call;
- 5. Oath of Office;
- 6. Adoption of Interim Rules for Election of President;
- 7. Election of President;
- 8. Adoption of Rules of Procedure; and
- 9. Other matters.

2. <u>Pre-Convention Committee Chair to Convene Convention</u>. The Pre-Convention Committee Chair shall convene the Third Northern Marianas Constitutional Convention on Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands, on Monday, June 5, 1995 at 10:00 A.M.

3. <u>Pre-Convention Committee Chair as President Pro Tempore.</u> The Pre-Convention Committee Chair shall act as President Pro Tem of the Convention – until the Convention elects a President from among its membership. However, if the Chair of the Pre-Convention Committee is a candidate for the office of President, then the Chair shall designate a delegate who is not a candidate for the presidency to act as President Pro Tem during the election of a President. 4. <u>Delegates' Oath of Office</u>. The Chief Justice of the Commonwealth Supreme Court shall administer the following oath or affirmation to the delegates en masse:

"I do solemnly affirm (or swear) that I will support and defend the Constitution and laws of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Covenant to Establish a Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands in Political Union with the United States of America, the applicable provisions of the Constitution, laws and treaties of the United States of America, and that I will faithfully discharge my duties to the best of my ability (so help me God)."

5. <u>Quorum of the Convention</u>. No business may be transacted by the Convention in the absence of a quorum. The presence of a majority of the delegates shall constitute a quorum; provided that at least one delegate is present from each of the three senatorial districts.

6. <u>Voting</u>. No voting shall be permitted except in person. Except as otherwise provided by these Rules, any question before the Convention shall be decided by the vote of a majority of the delegates present and voting.

7. <u>Election of the President</u>. The Convention shall elect a President from among its membership by secret ballot vote. The President Pro Tem shall not recognize and the Convention shall not entertain any motion to amend the interim Rules until after the election of the President. The President shall be elected by vote of a majority of the delegates present and voting. If there are more than two candidates for the office of President and no candidate receives a majority on the first ballot, the Convention shall conduct a second ballot between the two candidates with the highest votes.