

## OFFICE OF THE MAYOR

P.O. Box 537, Rota, MP 96951



JOSEPH S. INOS MAYOR TEL: (670) 532-9451 (670) 532-9452 (670) 532-9453 FAX: (670) 532-9454

July 27, 1995

The Honorable Felix R. Nogis
Committee on Executive Branch and
Local Government
Third Northern Mariana Islands
Constitutional Convention
Caller Box 10007
Saipan, MP 96950

## Dear Chairman Nogis:

Again I wish to thank you and your Committee for coming to Rota during June 29 & 30, 1995 to hear testimony on constitutional matters of interest to the Committee and to the local people.

On June 30, I appeared before the Committee and delivered testimony on, among other matters, Local Government Structure. I believe the Committee was given a most comprehensive picture of what Local Government is and means to the people of Rota and Tinian both now and historically, and also what needed constitutionally to be done in order to resolve the current Amendment 25 conflict and further strengthen the constitutional fabric of local government to preclude future conflict and to assure peace, tranquillity and prosperity on the two islands.

With this introduction I submitted to your committee proposals for constitutional amendments to Article III, sections 1 and 17, and also Article VI, sections 1, 3(b) & (c).

It is with the greatest misgivings I note that the local proposals are not even debated along with other options. It appears that local voices are ignored as a matter of Committee policy.

The proposals now on the table and energetically argued for final proposals to lay before the voters, are totally unacceptable to the people of Rota and Tinian and will destroy local government as we have known it, exercised it and cherished it. Elements of Article VI, relative to the Municipal Council, are additionally of a nature which will bring economic disaster to our islands including Salpan.

I urge the Committee to most carefully re-examine its proposals and make necessary adjustments, and not with open eyes blueprint the destruction of our heritage.

Sincerely.

Concon President

Concon Committee Chairmen

Mayor of Tinian

S. Inos

Tinian Legislative Delegation