

Third Northern Mariana Islands Constitutional Convention

Convention Center - House Chamber
Caller Box 10007, Saipan, MP 96950
Tel. No. (670) 664-5378 • Fax No. (670) 322-2270

HERMAN T. GUERRERO
President

AUG. 0 2 1995

TO

•

All Delegates

FROM

President, Third Northern Marianas Constitutional Convention

SUBJECT

Post Convention Committee

Pursuant to Section 21 of Public Law No. 9-18, I hereby appoint the following delegates to the Post Convention Committee:

	Members	Alternate Members
Rota:	Justo S. Quitugua	Victor B. Hocog, Benjamin T. Manglona, Teresita A. Santos
Tinian:	David Q. Maratita	Joey P. San Nicolas, James M. Mendiola, Henry Hofschneider
Carolinian:	Felix R. Nogis	Jose R. Lifoifoi, David L. Igitol, Mariano Taitano
Saipan:	Tomas B. Aldan Esther S. Fleming John Oliver DLR. Gonzales Herman T. Guerrero	Marian Aldan-Pierce, Bennet Seman, Marylou Ada Sirok, Lillian A. Tenorio, Joaquin P. Villagomez, Vicente S. Aldan, Frances LG. Borja, Carlos S. Camacho, Donald B. Mendiola, Helen Taro-Atalig, Juan S. Tenorio

A copy of the duties and responsibilites of the Post Convention Committee is attached. The delegates at the Fifty-Ninth Day of the Convention (August 2, 1995) unanimously adopted a motion for the President to serve as the Chairman of the Post Convention Committee.

I urge all delegates to assist the Post Convention Committee in the public education process. It is our product and your active participate would ensure ratification of the proposed constitutional amendments. We welcome any comments and ideas on public education.

The Post Convention Committee will be operating at the same office as the Pre-Convention Committee Office, Joeten Commercial Center, Dandan, Saipan. The telephone number and fax number are 235-0843 and 235-0842 respectively. The journal of the last day will be available for pick-up from the Dandan Office. For other arrangment, please call the office. If you feel homesick, feel free to drop in.

HERMAN T. GUERRERO

Attachment

Section 21. Post Convention Committee: Establishment. There is hereby established a Post Constitutional Convention Committee, which shall consist of seven (7) members. At least one member shall be a person representing Rota, at least one member shall be a person representing Tinian, and at least one person shall be of Carolinian descent. The members of the Post Constitutional Convention Committee shall be appointed by the President of the Constitutional Convention prior to the sine die of the Convention.

Section 22. <u>Post Convention Committee</u>: <u>Compensation of Committee</u>

<u>Members</u>. The members of the Post Constitutional Convention Committee shall receive no compensation for their participation on the committee. Off-island members shall receive a travel allowance, at government established rates, to attend to committee business.

Section 23. Post Convention Committee: Duties.

30 .

- (a) The Post Constitutional Convention Committee shall assist and coordinate with government officials, who may be designated by the Governor, to provide public education regarding the meaning and effect of the proposed amendments to the Constitution.
- (b) If an analysis of the proposed amendments has not been completed prior to the close of the Convention, the Post Constitutional Convention Committee shall assist with the drafting of an analysis of those proposed amendments which are ratified by the voters.
- (c) The Post Constitutional Convention Committee shall obtain such copies of the records of the Convention which it deems will assist in the process of public education or the drafting of the analysis mentioned above.
- (d) The Chairman of the Post Constitutional Convention Committee shall evaluate any unliquidated fiscal liabilities of the Third Constitutional Convention in an effort to liquidate them within the limitations of the funds appropriated to the Post Constitutional Convention Committee by the Legislature.

Section 24. <u>Authorization for Appropriation</u>. There is hereby authorized the appropriation of such funds as are deemed necessary to carry out the duties and responsibilities of the Pre-Convention Committee, the Constitutional Convention and the Post Convention Committee, and the Board of Elections with respect to the election of delegates to the Convention. If the Legislature fails to appropriate the