COMMONWEALTH OF THE NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS

ter-

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR

Capitol Hill

Saipan, MP/USA 96950

MEMORANDUM

TO

All Department and Activity Heads

DATE: MAR 1 7 1985

FROM

Governor

SUBJECT:

Third Constitutional Convention

The Pre-Convention Committee of the Third Constitutional Convention will be convening soon. As part of its duties, the Pre-Convention Committee must ensure that accommodations, facilities, equipment, and staff support for the Convention are available.

Section 17 of the Third Constitutional Convention Enabling Act (P.L. 9-18) requires that the Governor and the presiding officers of the Legislature shall cooperate and make available, to the greatest extent practicable, the resources of the executive and legislative branches to support the Convention. The law says that this support should extend to accommodations, facilities, equipment, and staff support.

I am requesting that you provide a list of what facilities, equipment, and staff you can make available to support the Convention. This list could include (for example) secretarial and stenographic personnel, researchers, attorneys, computer equipment, telefax and photocopy machines, and meeting spaces for convention hearings and committee meetings. If some personnel or facilities are only available on a temporary or part-time basis, please indicate this on the list.

I have appointed my Special Assistant for Administration, Mr Joaquin I. Pangelinan, as Coordinator for Convention Services. He will be assembling the complete list of available assistance, and working with the Pre-Convention Committee and the Constitutional Committee. Please give your support information to him.

By copy of this memorandum, I am also asking for similar assistance from other entities.

I thank you for youf cooperation in this matter.

FROILAN C. TENORIO

CC: President of the Senate

Speaker, House of Representatives

Director, Legislative Bureau

All Mayors

Chief Justice, Supreme Court

Chief Judge, Superior Court

Executive Director, Commonwealth Development Authority

Executive Director, Commonwealth Ports Authority

Executive Director, Commonwealth Utilities Corporation

Managing Director, Marianas Visitors Bureau

Administrator, NMI Retirement Fund

President, Northern Marianas College

Commissioner, Public School System