

COMMONWEALTH OF THE NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS

FROILAN C. TENORIO
Governor

JESUS C. BORJA
Lt. Governor

Capitol Hill Saipan, MP 96950

MAR 2 1 1995

Herman Guerrero Delegate, Constitutional Convention Saipan, MP 96950

Dear Delegate Guerrero:

On behalf of the Commonwealth Government, I would like to express congratulations to you upon your election as a Third Constitutional Convention delegate. As you are well aware, there is a great deal of work to be done by you in considering and recommending changes to our Constitution. I wish you well in representing the people of the Commonwealth and in meeting your responsibilities as an elected delegate.

The first important duty of the delegates is to select the members of the Pre-Convention Committee (the delegates from Saipan have performed this duty). This Committee is responsible for setting the opening date of the Convention, drafting proposed Rules of Procedure to be considered by the delegates on the opening day of the Convention, ensuring that accommodations, facilities, equipment, and staff support for the Convention are arranged and in proper order, and do whatever else is necessary to prepare for and facilitate the work of the Convention.

The Pre-Convention Committee is to be composed of nine members (two (2) from the First Senatorial District including the delegation chairperson; two (2) from the Second Senatorial District including the delegation chairperson; and, five (5) from the Third Senatorial District including the delegation chairperson) who shall be chosen by the delegates of each respective Senatorial District. Since the election was held on March 4, 1995, the "thirty (30)" day provision of Section 10(a) of P.L. 9-18 (the "Northern Marianas Third Constitutional Convention Enabling Act of 1994"), sets April 3, 1995 as the deadline for the selection of Pre-Convention Committee members.

My office should be notified at the earliest reasonable time, and certainly no later than April 3, 1995, of each Senatorial District's selection of Pre-Convention Committee members. I mention this only because Section 10(b) of P.L. 9-18 requires me to call the Pre-Convention Committee to order no later than April 6, 1995.

Page 2

Should you have any questions with regard to either your responsibilities as a delegate or as to any matter pertaining to the Third Constitutional Convention, please do not hesitate to contact either of the two attorneys on my staff - Ron Oestreich or Doug Muir.

Simcerely,

FROILAN C. TENORIO