

NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS THIRD CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION **PRE-CONVENTION COMMITTEE**

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING 10:00 A.M., Wednesday, April 5, 1995 Governor's Conference Room

ORDER OF BUSINESS

- Call to Order by Governor Froilan C. Tenorio
 - Call of the Roll by Senatorial Districts
 - Election of Chairperson of Pre-Convention Committee
- $\begin{pmatrix} 2 \\ 3 \end{pmatrix} \begin{pmatrix} 3 \\ 4 \end{pmatrix}$ Recess
- 5. Reconvening of Meeting by Chairperson of Pre-Convention Committee
- Election of Vice Chairperson 6
- 7. Other Business
- 8. Announcements
- 9. Adjournment



NORTHERN MARIANA ISLANDS THIRD CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION PRE-CONVENTION COMMITTEE

FIRST SENATORIAL DISTRICT ROTA

- 1. VICTOR H. HOCOG, MEMBER
- 2. JUSTO S. QUITUGUA, MEMBER -

SECOND SENATORIAL DISTRICT TINIAN

- 1. JAMES M. MENDIOLA, CHAIRPERSON OF SECOND SENATORIAL DISTRICT
- 2. Henry Hofschneider, Member

THIRD SENATORIAL DISTRICT SAIPAN

- 1. DR. CARLOS S. CAMACHO, CHAIRPERSON OF THIRD SENATORIAL DISTRICT
- 2. ESTHER S. FLEMING, MEMBER
- 3. HERMAN T. GUERRERO, MEMBER
- 4. BERNADITA T. SEMAN, MEMBER
- 5. JOAQUIN P. VILLAGOMEZ, MEMBER

PURSUANT TO PUBLIC LAW 9-18, AN ACT TO PROVIDE FOR A CONSTITUTION CONVENTION, SECTION 10(B), I CALL THIS PRE-CONVENTION COMMITTEE TO ORDER FOR THE PURPOSE OF ELECTING FROM ITS MEMBERSHIP A CHAIRMAN AND SUCH OTHER OFFICERS AS THE COMMITTEE MAY DEEM APPROPRIATE. Pursuant to Section 10(a)(3) of Public Law 9-18, the members of the Pre-Convention Committee from each Senatorial District are to be chosen by members from that district. The law further provides that in the event that the delegates from any district do not choose the committee members within 30 days after the election of the delegates, the Governor shall appoint the committee members from among the delegates of that district.

The election of delegates to the Third Constitutional Convention took place on March 4, 1995. Therefore, April 3, 1995 was the 30 day deadline for the delegates from the 3 senatorial districts to elect Pre-Convention committee members. The delegates from the Second and Third Senatorial Districts selected committee members within the 30 day period. However, the delegates from Rota did not select committee members by the April 3, 1995 deadline. Therefore, pursuant to Section 10(a)(3), I have appointed Mr. Ho**f**og and Mr. Quit**U**gua to serve as Pre-Convention Committee members representing the First Senatorial District.