## UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT of the INTERIOR

OFFICE OF TERRITORIES

For Release FEBRUARY 27, 1965

TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PACIFIC ISLANDS ELECTS ITS FIRST CONGRESS IN HEAVY VOTING

The people of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands have elected their first Congress, with approximately 70 percent of the registered voters exercising their suffrage. The Congress' first regular session is scheduled to begin July 12, 1965.

Secretary of the Interior Stewart L. Udall, whose Department administers the islands under a trusteeship agreement with the United Nations, said the first territory-wide election on January 19 was a major step in developing self-government in the islands.

He added that campaigning was active, with 28 candidates competing for the 12 seats in the House of Delegates and 67 candidates running for the 21 seats in the General Assembly.

The territory's population is approximately 88,000 and about 35,800 were registered to vote. The Trust Territory Code provides that the voting franchise "shall be vested in residents of the Trust Territory who are citizens of the Trust Territory and 18 years of age or over. Additional qualifications may be prescribed ... provided ... that no property, language or income qualification shall ever be imposed or required of any voter, nor shall any discrimination in qualification be made or based upon literacy, tribal custom, or social position, nor upon any difference in race, color, ancestry, sex or religious belief."

Nime major languages are spoken in the territory. The islands are spread over 3 million square miles of the Pacific Ocean, with a total land area of about 700 square miles.

Last September 28 Secretary Udall established the Congress of Micronesia, an outgrowth of United States efforts to develop a territory-wide political consciousness among the many racially and culturally diverse groups who inherit the widely scattered land areas.

The legislative body evolved from an original 12-member Micronesian Advisory Committee, first appointed in 1956, which met annually to discuss problems of mutual concern. The advisory group was appointed by the High Commissioner, who presides over the territory's civilian government functions. The advisory group became the Council of Micronesia, which voted in 1962 in favor of the creation of a legislature.

The legislature as finally constituted in Secretary Udall's order closely parallels the Council's recommendations. The Congress will consist of two houses—the House of Delegates, composed of two representatives from each of the six districts, and the General Assembly, with 21 representatives apportioned on a population basis. The Secretary's order called for a first general election to the Congress to be held on January 19, 1965, with subsequent elections to be held in November of even-numbered years.

The Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands embraces three major groups of islands—the Marshalls, the Carolines, and the Marianas, except for the American territory of Guam. The Trust Territory is divided into six administrative districts, with headquarters on Saipan in the Marianas.

Many of the islands became famous in World War II including Kwajalein, Saipan, Peleliu and Truk, In 1947, the islands were placed under the trusteeship system of the United Nations, with the United States as administering authority.

The successful candidates in the January 19 election include a number of Micronesians who held responsible positions in the executive branch of the Trust Territory Government, a situation made possible by a provision in Secretary Udall's order which stipulated that until the third general election Micronesian employees may campaign and serve as members of the Congress. This particular section of the order permits the Congress to draw on experienced men during its first important, formative years. Other candidates elected to the Congress include doctors, educators, and representatives of the business community.

The first Congress of Micronesia will have the following membership:

District	House of Delegates	General Assembly
Mariana Islands	Jose R. Cruz Olympio T. Borja	Benjamin T. Manglona Manuel D. Muna Juan A. Sablan
Marshall Islands	Amata Kabua Dr. Isaac Lanwi	Namu Hermios Dr. Henry Samuel Dwight Heine Atlan Anien
Palau	John Olbedabel Ngimaked Roman Tmetuchl	Lazarus Salii Sadang Ngiraeherang Jacob Sawaichi

House of Delegates District General Assembly Bailey Olter Ponape Elias Robert Dr. Eliuel K. Pretrick Bethwel Henry Max Iriarte Olter Poll Truk Tosiwo Nakayama Smart Lampson Andon L. Amaraich Petrus Mailo Soukichi Fritz Mitaro Danis Chutomu Nimues Luke M. Tman Francis Nuuan Yap Joseph Tamag John Rugulmar

x x x

٥