CANDIDATES FOR MARSHALLS SPECIAL ELECTION ANNOUNCED

SAIPAN, MARIANA ISLANDS, TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PACIFIC ISLANDS, (MARCH 24)...Seven hopeful candidates have entered the race in the Marshalls Special election in District C to fill a vacant seat in the General Assembly of the Congress of Micronesia, according to information received here from District Administrator Dwight Heine, whose resignation from the Congress last October created the vacancy.

In accordance with Section 21 of Secretarial Order 2882, which requires that any vacancy occurring six months before the next general election shall be filled by a special election, High Commissioner M. W. Goding issued a notice last February calling for a special election in the Marshalls Election District C.

The candidates are: Ekpap Silk, James Milne, Jima Alik, Johnny Silk, Lepty Levitcus, Lucky Lokboj, and Titus Arelong. Both Ekpap Silk and Johnny Silk, who is Ekpap's uncle, ran for seats in the House of Delegates in the first General Election held January 19, 1965, but lost to Amata Kabua and Isaac Lanwi.

(MORE)

CANDIDATES FOR MARSHALLS SPECIAL ELECTION ANNOUNCED - Page 2

In view of the widely dispersed nature of district C consisting of the islands of Jaluit Atoll, Kili Island, Namorik Atoll, and Ebon Atoll, the election commenced February 21 and will end on May 1, 1965, in order to permit a field trip vessel to call at each island to hold election.

Under the established election law, District Administrator Heine serves as Election Commissioner.

-30-

Ω

PIO/2148