RELEASE: 102-66

## LEGISLATORS ARRIVE SAIPAN

Saipan, Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands

July 6... Members of the Congress of Micronesia arrived in Saipan,

the Territory's provisional capital, on July 1 to join their fellow resident colleagues for a week's pre-session conference before the convening of the Second Regular Session on July 11.

The legislators were welcomed at the airport by Acting Deputy High
Commissioner Robert K. Shoecraft, Chief Justice Edward P. Furber,
Marianas District Administrator Peter T. Coleman, Mayor Vicente D.
Sablan of Saipan, members of District and Municipal Legislatures, other
members of the Headquarters and District Staffs and local dignitaries.

Members of the Congress who arrived were: President Tosiwo Nakayama and Acting Speaker Petrus Mailo of Truk; Dr. Henry Samuel, Namo
Hermios, and Ekpap Silk, Marshalls; Bailey Olter, Bethwel Henry, Dr.
Olter Paul, Elias Robert, Dr. Eliuel Pretrick, and Max Iriarte, Ponape;
Andon Amaraich, Chutomu Nimwes, Mitaro Danis, Soukichi Fritz, and Naosy
Pitiol, Truk; Lazarus Salii, Palau; Joseph Tamag and John Rugulmar of
Yap. Resident congressmen are; Juan A. Sablan, Olympio T. Borja,
Benjamin Manglona, and Jose R. Cruz, Manuel D. Muna, Marianas;

MODE

John O. Ngiraked, Palau, and Luke M. Tman, Yap. Dr. Isaac Lanwi, Marshalls, arrived on July 2 and Roman Tmetuchi, Sadang Ngiraeherang and Jacob Sawaichi from Palau arrived on the 4th. Congressmen Amata Kab a and Atlan Anien of the Marshalls are arriving this week, as is Yap's Delegate Francis Nuuan, who is returning from the U.N. Trusteeship Council Meeting in New York.

The pre-session conference began Saturday, July 2.

0

# # #

PIO/2148