臣殿臣舍公

DRY COR THE FACT

Salan Sulan Maria -

RELEASE: 163-66

NOMINATIONS FOR 1966 CONGRESS OF MICRONESIA ELECTIONS FILED

Saipan, Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of Othe Pacific Islands, Oct. 14 . . . Nominations for the November 1966 elections to the Congress of Micronesia closed October 9. In the Marianas and Palau, nominations were handled by political parties, while in the other districts the nominations were submitted on an individual basis in accordance with the Election Law for the Territory, Public Law 2-16.

The following nominations were received by radio in the Headquarters Political Affairs Office:

For the Senate in which candidates run at large:

Marianas--Jose R. Cruz (incumbent), Territorial Party; Francisco

T. Palacios, Popular Party;

Marshalls--Amata Kabua (incumbent);

Palau--Roman Imetuchl (incumbent), Liberal Party; David Ramarui, Progressive Party;

Ponape--Dr. Eliwel Pretrick (incumbent); Yoster Carl, Johny Hadley; Dr. Burton K. Jano; Bernard Helgenberger; Dr. Hiroshi Ishmael;

COPY LBJ LIBRAR

MORE

NOMINATIONS FOR 1966 CONGRESS OF MICRONESIA ELECTIONS FILED - Page 2

Judge Carl Kohler; Elias Robert; Petrus Selibanuz; Constantino Victor;

Truk--Andon Amaraich (incumbent); Nick Bossy; Sasauo Haruo;

Yap--Joseph Tanag (incumbent); Petrus Tun; Rafael Moonfel; Carlos Fong; Stephen Peachem; Isidro Epainug.

In the House of Representatives, candidates run according to Representative district. Nomination petitions filed with election board members in the Marshalls Islands are still coming in and a complete report is not yet available.

Marianas

lst Rep. District...Tinian, Rota, ---Benjamin T. Manglona (incumbent), Southern Saipan Territorial Party; Fidel A. Mendiola, Popular Party.

2nd Rep. District...Central Saipan-- Manuel D. Muna (incumbent), Popular Party; Luis M. Limes, Territorial Party.

3rd. Rep. District...Northern Saipan- Juan A. Sablan (incumbent), & Northern Territorial Party; Carlos S. Marianas Camacho, Popular Party.

Marshalls

4th Rep. District... Northeast Marshalls-- Namu Hermios (incumbent) Oscar Debrum

5th Rep. District... Southeastern ---
MarshallsHenry Samuel (incumbent)
Toke Sawej6th Rep. District...Northwest Marshalls--
Southwestern Marshalls--
Tipne Philippo

COPY LBJ LIBRAR

MORE

NOMINATIONS FOR 1966 CONGRESS OF MICRONESIA ELECTIONS FILED - Page 3

Palau

8th Rep. District...Western Babelthuap,... Lazarus Salii (incumbent), Peleliu, Angaur, et. Liberal Party 9th Rep. District...Eastern Babelthuap ... Sadang Ngiraecherang (incumbent), Independent Polycarp Basilius, Progressive Party 10th Rep. District.. Koror... Jacob Sawaichi (incumbent), Progressive Party 0 Ponape 🛸 llth Rep. District... Kusaie, Pingelap ... Albert Diopulos Joab Sigrah 12th Rep. District ... Sokehs, Mokil, Ngatik, Bethwel Henry (incumbent) Nukuoro, Kapingamarangi 13th Rep. District... Uh, Net, Kolonia..... Martin Christian Ambilos Ieshi Damian Primo Higinio Weirlangt Kozo Yanada 14th Rep. District... Medolenihmw, Kiti,... Olter Paul (incumbent) Samson Alpet Takeshy Hadley Herman Semes Daro Weital 15th Rep, District... Mortlocks..... Naosy Pitiol (incumbent) Raymond Setik Nakao Sonis Ermes Siales Fermin Likiche 16th Rep. District... Moen..... Petrus Mailo (incumbent) 17th Rep. District ... Namoneas (Truk Lagoon) Soukichy Fritz (incumbent) Enis Nedlic

MORE

COPY LBJ LIBRAR

NOMINATIONS FOR 1966 CONGRESS OF MICRONESIA ELECTIONS FILED - Page 4

18th Rep. District... Hall Islands, ... Mitaro Danis (incumbent) Namonuito, John Sandy Western Islands 19th Rep. District... Faichuk Chutomu Nimues (incumbent) (Truk Lagoon) Nascha Siren Yap 20th Rep. District... Yap Islands Luke Tman (incumbent) 21th Rep. District... Ulithi, Woleai,... John Rugulimar (incumbent) and others # # # #

COPY LBJ LIBRAR

Yoma/Udui/PIO/2148