PRESS RELEASE

TORY OF THE PACIFIC

Office of the High Commissioner

Saipan, Mariang Rasignd 1590-66

Number of Votes

96950

Marianas

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS OF CONGRESS OF MICRONESIA ELECTIONS IN FROM SOME DISTRICTS

Saipan, Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands,

November 16.... Unofficial results of the Congress of Micronesia

Truk

elections show:

Mariana Islands (final returns)

Senate 1,863 Dr. Francisco T. Palacios (Popular Party) 1,653 Jose R. Cruz (Territorial Party) incumbent

Ponape

Marshalls

Pa au 💮

First Représentative District (Tinian, Rota, Southern Saipan) House of Representatives Benjamin T. Manglona (Territorial Party) incumbent 539

Fidel A. Mendiola (Popular Party)

2nd Rep. Dist. (Central Saipan)
Manuel D. Muna (Popular) incumbent 594 582 Luis T. Limes (Territorial)

3rd Rep. Dist. (Northern Saipan, Northern Marianas) 677 Dr. Carlos S. Camacho (Popular) 608 Juan A. Sablan (Territorial) incumbent

Yap

Marshall Islands -- no results in yet

Namu Hermios was unopposed in the 4th Rep. District (Northeast Marshalls).

Palau

1,770 Senate David Ramarui (Progressive Party) 1,687 Roman Tmetuchl (Liberal) incumbent

MORE

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS OF CONGRESS OF MICRONESIA ELECTIONS IN FROM SOME DISTRICTS - Page 2

	House of Representatives	Number	of	Votes
	8th Rep. Dist. (Western Babelthuap, Peleliu, Lazarus Salii (Liberal) incumbent unopposed	Angaur)	800	3
	9th Rep. Dist. (Eastern Babelthuap) Polycarp Basilius (Progressive) Sadang Ngiraecherang (independent) incumbent		592 570	
	10th Rep. Dist. (Koror) Jacob Sawaichi (Progressive) incumbent unoppo	osed	757	•
Truk				
·	Senate Andon Amaraich (incumbent) Nick Bossy Sasauo Haruo		053 580 713)
	House of Representatives 15th Rep. Dist. (Mortlocks) Raymond Setik Ermes Siales Fermin Likiche Nakao Sonis Naosy Pitiol (incumbent)		640 258 150 114	}) }
	16th Rep. Dist. (Moen) Petrus Mailo (incumbent) unopposed		90)
	17th Rep. Dist. (Namoneas, Truk Lagoon) Soukichi Fritz (incumbent) Enis Nedelec		678 559	
	18th Rep. Dist. (Hall Islands, Namonuito, West Islands)	stern		
	Mitaro Danis (incumbent) Masauo Nakayama John Sandy		15: 88 17	3
	19th Rep. Dist. (Faichuk, Truk Lagoon) Chutomu Nimwes (incumbent) Nachsa Siren	1,	•33° 42′	

Returns from Ponage and Marshalls districts are expected within the next few days as field trip ships now are collecting ballot boxes

MORE

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS OF CONGRESS OF MICRONESIA ELECTIONS IN FROM SOME DISTRICTS - Page 3

from outer island areas where elections were held on November 8.

In Yap, the two candidates for the House of Representatives were unopposed. They were:

20th Rep. District (Yap Islands) Luke Tman (incumbent)

21st Rep. Dist. (Ulithi, Woleai, other out islands)
John Rugulimar (incumbent)

Outcome of the senatorial race in Yap awaits collecting of

ballot boxes in the outer islands.

Biographical sketches of the apparent new members of Congress follow:

Dr. Francisco T. Palacios, senior medical officer at the Dr.

Torres Hospital, was born in 1926 in Saipan. He received his medical training at the Naval Medical School in Guam and has had advanced training at Hilo Hospital in Hawaii and at the University of the Philippines. He is a member of the Mariana Islands District Legislature.

Dr. Carlos S. Camacho, medical officer at Dr. Torres Hospital, was born in 1937 in Garapan, Saipan. He graduated from the Central Medical School at Fiji in 1962.

David Ramarui, Palau District Educational Administrator, was born in Nghesar, Palau, in 1925. He received a B.A. degree in education and anthropology from the University of Hawaii in 1958. He has been active in the political life of Palau District for many years and served on the former Council of Micronesia.

Polycarp Basilius, was born in Nghesar, Palau, in 1936. He received his education at the College of Guam. He is a member of the Palau District Legislature. He is owner of a restaurant and runs a guide service for tourists.

Raymond Setik, Assistant District Administrator for Administration of Truk, was born in 1930 in Lukunor. He received his education at the Pacific Islands Teacher Training School. He served as a member of the Truk District Legislature from 1959-1963. He is presently a member of the Truk District Scholarship Committee and Board of Education.

###

Udui/PIO/2148