PRESS RELEASE



TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PAGIFIC ISLANDS

Office of the High Commissioner

Saipan, Mariana Islands

96950

RELEASE: 192-66

Morionos

Trob

PONAPE AND TRUK ELECTION RESULTS IN, TIGHT SENATORIAL RACE IN YAP

Saipan, Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands,
Nov. 21 . . . Unofficial final results from Ponape and official results
in Truk from the November 8 elections to the Congress of Micronesia
follow:

	Ponape District	<u>Votes</u>
Penapa	Senate Hirosi Ismael Burton Jano Eliuel Pretrick Carl Kohler Elias Robert Bernard Helgenberger Petrus Selibanuz Yoster Carl Constantino Victor	1,226 1,023 808 556 523 417 343 329 167
Top	House of Representatives ilth Rep. Dist. (Kusaie, Pingelap Joab Sigrah Albert Diopulos 12th Rep. Dist. (Sokehs, Mokil, Na Bethwel Henry (incumbent) unoppose	l,173 351 gatik, Nukuoro, Kapingamarangi)
Polou	13th Rep. Dist. (Uh, Net, Kolonia) Ambilos Ieshi Damian Primo Kozo Yamada Martin Christian Higinio Weirlangt	410 339 233 151 137

MORE

PONAPE AND TRUK ELECTION RESULTS IN, TIGHT SENATORIAL RACE IN YAP - Page 2

14th Rep. Dist. (Metalanim, Kiti)	
Daro Weital	634
Olter Paul (incumbent)	589
Herman Semes	252
Takesy Hadley	97

Southern islands' results not yet in but are unlikely to affect lead of Dr. Ismael and Henry who was unopposed.

No biographical information is available yet on Ponape's new Congressmen-elect.

Truk District

Clare who	0
Senate Andon Amaraich (incumbent)	3,008
Nick Bossy	1,898
Sasauo Haruo	1,868
DODGEO MANAGEMENT	
House of Representatives	
15th Rep. Dist. (Mortlocks)	
Raymond Setik	740
Nakao Sonis	469
Ermes Siales	3 54
Naosy Pitiol(incumbent)	225
Fermin Likiche	202
16th Rep. Dist. (Moen)	ا م م
Petrus Mailo (incumbent) unopposed	904
17th Rep. Dist. (Namoneas, Truk Lagoon)	(70
Soukichi Fritz (incumbent)	678 550
Enis Nedelec	559
18th Rep. Dist. (Hall Islands, Namonuito,	Worterm Talenda)
Mitaro Danis (incumbent)	507
	284
Masauo Nakayama	152
John Sandy	سار شد
19th Rep. Dist. (Faichuk, Truk Lagoon)	
Chutomu Nimwes (incumbent)	1,330
Nachsa Siren	425
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·

MORE

PONAPE AND TRUK ELECTION RESULTS IN, TIGHT SENATORIAL RACE IN YAP - Page 3

Unofficial tabulation of the election returns from Yap Proper to neck indicate a neck/race between Senatorial candidates Rafael Moonfell and Petrus Tun with Moonfell leading Tun 620 votes to 616. Incumbent Senator Joseph Tamag's hope for reelection is dim since he received only 257 votes. Other Senatorial candidates: Stephen Peachem received 9 votes; Carlos Fong and Isidore Epainug received 3 votes each. In the House of Representatives, incumbent Congressman Luke Tman who was unopposed received 1,012 votes. Incumbent John Rugulimar from the 21st Representative District also was unopposed and has thus far received 29 votes. The present 1508 out of a possible 1,792 eligible votes have been cast. Election returns from the outer islands are expected early next week.

No indicative returns have been received from the Marshall Islands as yet.

In the Marianas Dr. Francisco T. Palacios won over Jose R. Cruz in the Senate. In the House, Benjamin T. Manglona and Manuel D. Muna were reelected; while Dr. Carlos S. Camacho won over Juan A. Sablan.

In Palau, David Ramarui won over incumbent Roman Tmetuchl in the Senate. In the House Lazarus Salii and Jacob Sawaichi were reelected, Polycarp Basilius defeated incumbent Sadang Ngiraecherang.

###

Udui/PIO/2148