PRESS RELEASE

TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PACIFIC ISLANDS

Office of the High Commissioner

Saipan, Mariana Islands

RELEASE: 224-66

96950

OFFICIAL WINNERS OF NOVEMBER ELECTIONS DECLARED

Saipan, Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Dec. 22 . . . The High Commissioner has declared the following persons officially elected to the Congress of Micronesia as certified by their respective election commissioners according to Public Law 2-16.

Marianas--Francisco T. Palacios, Senator-elect; Manuel D. Muna and Benjamin T. Manglona reelected to the House of Representatives; Carlos S. Camacho, Representative-elect.

Palau--David Ramarui, Senator-elect; Jacob Sawaichi and Lazarus Salii reelected to House; Polycarp Basilius, Representative-elect.

Truk--Andon Amaraich, reelected to Senate; Petrus Mailo, Soukichi Fritz, Mitaro Danis, Chutomu Nimwes reelected to House; Raymond Setik, Representative-elect.

Yap--Petrus Tun, Senator-elect; Luke Tman and John Rugulimar reelected to House.

Although complete tabulation of election returns have been reported from Ponape District, official declaration on the winners has been withheld awaiting the official confirmation from the Election Commissioner.

Only incomplete and non-indicative returns have been received from the Marshalls District.

MORE

Moriane

Vods

.

Pottopo

Morsholls

Polow

OFFICIAL WINNERS OF NOVEMBER ELECTIONS DECLARED - Page 2

The following are Senators who were not up for election this year, but will be in the November, 1968 general elections: Francis Nuuan, Yap; Tosiwo Nakayama, Truk; Bailey Olter, Ponape; John O. Ngiraked, Palau; Isaac K. Lanwi, Marshalls; Olympio T. Borja, Marianas.

###

0

UHERBELAU/PIO/2148