## PRESS RELEASE

TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PACIFIC ISLANDS

Office of the High Commissioner Saipan, Mariana Islands 96950 RELEASE: 20-67

SPECIAL JOINT PLANNING ADVISORY COMMITTEE ESTABLISHED

Saipan, Mariana Iskands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Jan. 20. . . A Special Joint Planning Advisory Committee consisting of members from the executive and legislative branches of the Trust Territory Government has been established by the High Commissioner.

According to its Chairman, Deputy Hi h Commissioner Martin P. Mangan, the purpose of the Committee is to initiate a program of longrange planning for the Territory and to consider means whereby existing organizations, the Congress of Micronezia and others, could contribute to planning without creating a new specialized organization.

Planning groups generally are responsible for giving voice to the goals and objectives of the community, gathering information in order to decide priorities and coordinate various programs and estimating how best to institute change, given various limitations on the rapidity with which growth may be attained.

The Committee is scheduled to meet the third week in February.

Members of the Planning Advisory Committee who were appointed by President of the Senate of the Congress of Micronesia Tosiwo Makayama and Speaker of the House of Representatives Bethwel Henry are: Senator Hiroshi Ismael, Ponape; Senator Isa c Lanwi, Marshalls; Senator Francisco P. Lacios, Harianas; Representative Luke Tman, Yap;

MORE

CORPUTOR

L'ONOPO ------

Man

Ralou ()

COPY LBJ LIBRARY

SPECIAL JOINT PLANNING ADVISORY COMMITTEE ESTABLISHED - Page 2

Representative Jacob Sawaichi, Palau; and Representative Soukichi Fritz, Truk.

Nembers of the Committee appointed by the High Commissioner are: EUsebio Rechucher, Deputy Assistant Commissioner for Resources and Development, Vice Chairman;

0

COPY LBJ LIBRARY

William A. McGrath, Director of Land Management, Committee

Coordinator;

Howard Waite, Chief Engineer;

Antonio C. Tenorio, General Engineer;

Leslie Arentzen, Director of Budget and Finance;

Francis B. Mahoney, Community Development Officer; and

James Leonard, Economic Development Team,

###

UDUI/PIO/2148