PRESS RELEASE

TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PACE

Office of the High Commissioner Saipan, Mariana Islands

Band.

96950

RELEASE: 22-67

INTERIM COMMITTEE VISITS

Jan. 24 . . . The Interim Committee of the Congress of Micronesia arrived in Palau January 15. When the Committee landed at Airai Airfield, they were welcomed by District Administrator Boyd Mackenzie and his staff; High Chiefs Ibedul and Reklai; Speaker Itelbang Luii, and other members of the Palau Legislature; Senator David Ramarui and Representative Polycarp Basilius Peace Corps Director Dirk A. Ballendorf; an honor guard of the Palau Constabulary and the Community

Saipan, Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands,

Moraholls

20 km . . .

Leis were presented to members of the Committee as they disembarked from the plane. The Palau Constabulary honor guard saluted the Committee while the high school students who form the Community Band were pounding their drums and blowing their brass instruments in welcome.

The Committee was housed at the Royal Palauan Notel.

The Interim Committee's tour started the following day on the island of Koror. The Committee visited the schools, hospital, entomology laboratory, boat yard, and also went on a sightseeing tour of the island. Members of the Committee also enjoyed a ride on the newly

MORE

INTERIM COMMITTEE VISITS PALAU - Page 2

built tuna fishing boat Emeraech, which took them for a cruise between the rock islands.

A reception-dinner was given in honor of the Interim Committee by the Palauan Legislature at the home of the District Administrator. The table was colorful with varieties of Palauan foods. Some of the dishes were new to the taste of some members of the Committee.

The Committee's tour of the Palau District included Angaur and Peleliu as well as Western and Eastern Babelthuap Municipalities. The boat ride to these municipalities was rough due to bad weather. Nevertheless the Committee visited these muncipalities and met with their people in an effort to know their problems.

Members of the Committee were:

Senator Bailey Olter, Co-Chairman, Ponape; Senator Tosiwo Nakayama, Truk; Senator Isaac Lanwi, Marshalls; Senator Hiroshi Ishmael, Ponape; Representative Luke M. Tman, Co-Chairman, Yap; Representative Petrus Mailo, Truk; Representative Chutomu Nimwes, Truk; Representative Ekpap Silk, Marshalls; Representative Ambilos Ieshi, Ponape; Representative Carlos Camacho, Marianas; Tatasi Wainis, interpreter, Truk; and staff member Juan Sablan, Marianas.