## PRESS RELEASE

## TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PACIFIC ISLANDS

fice of the High Commissioner Saipan, Mariana Islands

RELEASE: 76-67



96950

## 18 CONGRESSMEN TO OBSERVE LEGISLATIVE PROCEDURES IN HAWAII LEGISLATURE

Saipan, Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Mar. 29 . . . Seven Senators and eleven Representatives of the Congress of Micronesia have been appointed by Senate President Tosiwo Nakayama and House of Representatives Speaker Bethwel Henry as participant-observers in a special program of the East-West Center from April 5 through May 5. 1907. The program will involve observation, of legislative procedures in the Hawaii State Legislature in session at Iolani Palace.

The program is cd-sponsored by the Institute for Technical Interchange, East-West Center, and the Congress of Micronesia with the East-West Center providing the legislators with housing accommodations, local transportation, and per diem allowances which will cover the cost of the Congressmen's subsistence and incidentals while in Hawaii. The Congress of Micronesia will furnish the legislators with international round trip transportation and sufficient funds to cover their expenses while in transit.

Names of participant-observers follow: Senators: Francis Nuuan, Yap; Andon L. Amaraich, Truk; Hiroshi Ismael and Bailey Olter, Ponape; John O. Ngiraked, Palau; Isaac K. Lanwi, Marshalls; Olympio T. Borja, Marianas. Representatives: Manuel D. Muna, Carlos S. Camacho, Marianas; Atlan Anien. Henry Samuel, Marshalls; Polycarp Basilius, Jacob Sawaichi, Palau; Daro Weital, Ponape; Mitaro Danis, Raymond Setik, Truk; Luke M. Tman, John Rugulimar, Yap.

UHERBELAU/PIO/2148