## PRESS RELEASE

TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PACIFIC ISLANDS

Office of the High Commissioner

Marianas

Ponape

Marshalls

00

Palau

Saipan, Mariana Islands

**RELEASE: 77-67** 

## MEDICAL SCHOLARSHIPS AWARDED TO SIXTEEN MICRONESIANS

Saipan, Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Mar. 30 . . . Sixteen medical scholarships have been awarded for 1967-1968 to Micronesians living in the Trust Territory, with eight alternates being named. The list of winners was announced by High Commissioner William R. Norwood's office.

In addition to the 40 students from Micronesia who are alroady attending colleges and universities in the pre-medical and para-medical fields, the new students will attend schools in the Pacific area and the United States. Seven will go to the Fiji School of Medicine; seven to the College of Guam; one to the University of Hawaii; and one to the University of Oregon.

Scholarships are for one year and are automatically renewable each year if the student is doing acceptable work according to the college's standards. The scholarships are good as long as the student must remain in school to reach his vocational goal.

Including the cost of tuition, fees and a monthly stipend to cover room, board, and incidentals, the scholarships vary in amount according to the area and the time of year for attendance (summer sessions or full semesters). Students will report to their schools this fall, or possibly next January if they are going to Fiji.

MORE

MEDICAL SCHOLARSHIPS AWARDED TO SIXTEEN MICRONESIANS - Page 2

Of these 16 scholarships, nine are for pre-medical, five for nursing, and two for dentistry.

Winners are as follows: Yap--Louis Moongog, Mary Berngun; Marshalls--Elliott Lang, Robert Kelen; Truk--Nario Eter, Takasy FisBilly; Marianas--Juan T. Lizama, Josepha K. Arriola, Helen T. Taro; Ponape--Kephas Tulpi, Paul Nena, Elizabeth Pretrick; Palau--Francisco Yalap, Robert Paul, Helen Jonathan, Monique Mariur.

Alternates selected will also attend Pacific area schools (either Fiji or Guam). They are Louis Rig: and William Yalofil from Yap; Lessep Motellang, Marshalls; Enlet K. Yalbert, Truk; William Kasaky and Jochenia Deniong from Ponape; and Blacheos Swatz and Henaro Deltang from Palau.

# # #

N.º SABLAN/PIO/2148 TO THE BOYL OF STANDARD GUIDED CONTACT STATE

and the second second to be the second s

and a second second

COPY LBJ LIBRARY