PRESS RELEASE

RUST TERRITORY OF THE PACIFIC IS VANDS

Office of the High Commissioner Saipan, Mariana Islands

96950

RELEASE: 112-67

TT NURSING SCHOOL EXPANDS WITH MORE SCHOLARSHIP STUDENTS

Saipan, Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, June 2 . . . With the announcement that 38 new students have been selected to attend the Trust Territory's Nursing School on Saipan, Mariana Islands, this coming fall, officials expect the enrollment of the school to reach 60--a record high for the school. The new candidates from throughout the Micronesian islands were selected by the Headquarters Medical Scholarship Committee.

Hormally, about 25 scholarships are awarded each year. enrollment in the school has steadily climbed during the past three years jumping from 25 in 1985 to 40 in 1986 and now to 60 in 1967. The school has graduated 12 students in the past two years with another 15 to be graduated this August.

According to High Commissioner William R. Norwood, response to the nursing scholarship program has been greater than in previous years and there has been an improvement in qualifications for selection on a competitive basis of academic standing. This has increased the school's enrollment and plans are being made to extend the nursing school to a three-year program in the fall of 1969. It is now a two-year program.

The Trust Territory Nursing School is one of three governmentoperated training schools in Micronesia. The Farm Institute in Ponape MORE

20 00

TT NURSING SCHOOL EXPANDS WITH MORE SCHOLARSHIP STUDENTS - Page 2

offers agriculture training while the Micronesian Teacher Education Center, also in Ponape, is for persons working in the education field.

The 36 selected students, as well as 13 alternates, are:

Marianas District: Dionisia D. Pialur, Vicente F. Rebuenog,
Rita A. Urumelog. Marshall Islands District: Saito Aine, Jimmy
Akeang, Almi Alik, Minna Andrike, May Ankeid, Libwel Jewel, Tarnin
Luther, Yoseph Kintaro, and alternates Susan Keju, Maryrose Arelong,
Kabwij Bebo.

Palau District: Irorou Mai, Angelina Smaserui, Regina Tabelual, Viviana Ucherbelau, Nockus Tkel, Nancy Secharraimul, Maria Merii, Mary Iramk, Yaeko Greenwood, and alternates Irene Kebou, Esther Koshiba, Romana Mirai, Sandra Ngiruos. Ponape District: Lianter Albert, Kenye Jackson, Tulpe Kephas, Eugne Palsis, Charlotte Welly, Kosaky William, and alternates Sintaro Ezra, Timothy Timothy, Palekun Shrew, Deniong Jack.

Truk District: Taisen Aake, Saikichy Angey, Rose Bosin, Switer Eter, Tosio Herman, Kalisto Thomas, Endy Matthew, and alternates Fumuo Phylim, Julio Robert. Yap District: Juanito Fasong, John Hasugoiram, Isidore Epainug, Vincent Sarongchoz, Paul Ythemar.

井 井 於

SABLAN/PIO/2148