PRESS RELEASE

TRUST TERRITORY OF THE PACIFIC ISLANDS

Office of the High Commissioner

Saipan, Mariana Islands

96950

RELEASE: 114-67

Morionos

TWO MEMBERS OF THE CONGRESS OF MICRONESIA TO ATTEND THE 34TH UN TRUSTEESHIP COUNCIL ANNUAL SESSION

Saipan, Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands,

June 5... Serving as Micronesian advisers to the U.S. Delegation,

Senator Amata Kabua of the Marshalls, Chairman of the Senate Committee
on Ways and Means, and Congressman Lazarus Salii of Palau, House Floor

Leader and Chairman of the House Committee on Ways and Means, are
accompanying the Special Representative of the Administering Authority,

High Commissioner William R. Morwood, to the 34th Session of the U.N.

Trusteeship Council slated to open on June C in New York.

Other members on the U.S. Delegation from the Department of the Interior include George R. Milner and John E. deYoung, Assistant Director and Deputy Assistant Director of the Office of Territories, respectively, and N. Neiman Craley, Jr., Trust Territory's Assistant Commissioner for Public Affairs. Mrs. Eugenie Anderson, U.S. Ambassador to the Trusteeship Council, is heading the U.S. Delegation.

With the advent of the Congress of Micronesia a change in the process of selecting Micronesian advisers was made. It was the practice in the past for the High Commissioner to make nominations with the final selection made in Washington. Last year High Commissioner Norwood considered it more appropriate for the Congress to make the selection and invited the Congress to select one representative from each house to serve in this capacity.

Tools

Lombs

Morsbolls

Vap

Polo

TWO MEMBERS OF THE CONGRESS OF MICRONESIA TO
ATTEND THE 34TH UN TRUSTEESHIP COUNCIL ANNUAL SESSION - Page 2

Mr. Salii departed last Friday for Washington, D.C., and thence on to New York. Due to quarantine restrictions in Majuro, Senator Kabua's departure has been delayed until Friday, June 9.

Micronesian leaders who have served as advisers to the US

Delegation to past United Nations Trusteeship Council sessions are:

the late Dorothy Kabua, Marshalls; Elias P. Sablan, Marianas; Alfonso
Oiterong, Palau; Bethwel Henry, Ponape; Tosiwo Nakayama and Andon

Amaraich, Truk; Vicente N. Santos, Marianas; Thomas Remengesau, Palau;
Bailey Olter, Ponape, and Francis Nuuan, Yap.

6 6 6

UHERBELAU/PIO/2148