Office of the White House Press Secretary

THE WHITE HOUSE

STATEMENT BY THE PRESIDENT

I would like to take this opportunity to extend to the people of the Northern Mariana Islands my personal greetings and to convey to them my pleasure with the results of the plebiscite held on June 17, 1975. I have been informed that a substantial majority has voted in favor of the Commonwealth Convenant in free and open balloting observed by the United Nations and preceded by a fair and impartial education program. I wish personally to congratulate and commend all of those who were responsible for the conduct of the plebiscite, including the Plebiscite Commissioner and his staff, the Voter Registration Board and the Plebiscite Advisory Committee.

The people of the Northern Marianas have now spoken. The next step will be consideration of the Covenant by the Congress of the United States. I intend to submit without delay the Covenant to the Congress with my strong endorsement for its early favorable action. It is my earnest hope that we may look forward to further steps in the near future which will move the people of the Northern Mariana Islands still closer to the long-desired ultimate goal of political union with the United States. I know the American people join with me in sending to the people of the Northern Mariana Islands our warmest regards.

Marianas Delegation Edward DLG. Pangelinan (Chairman, Marianas Political Status Commission) DOB: October 24, 1941 Show Pedro Tenorio (Senator, Congress of Micronesia) August 8, 1941 DOB: Manuel A. Sablan, DOB: December 27, 1944

District

Vicente N. Santos (President, Mariana Islands District Legislature) DOB: December 2, 1933 Olympio T. Borja (Senator, Congress of Micronesia) DOB: July 26, 1930 Antonio C. Atalig, DOB: December 31, 1923 Misael Ogo, DOB: January 14, 1940 Felipe C. Mendiola, DOB: August 16, 1911 Fought all the way Vicente D. Sablan, DOB: January 23, 1924 Joaquin I. Pangelinan, DOB: June 21, 1942 5 Francisco C. Ada, DOB: September 26, 1934 Lorenzo I. Guerrero, DOB: January 25, 1935 Daniel T. Muna, DOB: January 8, 1937 6 Santiago B. Magofna, DOB: March 28, 1932 Ricardo Duenas, DOB: September 15, 1940 Francisco Diaz, DOB: October 8, 1936 Juan Cabrera, DOB: May 2, 1934 Manuel D. Muna, DOB: December 24, 1936 William Nabors (Legal Counsel for Mariana Islands District Legislature) DOB: June 28, 1933 Howard P. Willens (Legal Counsel for Marianas Political 7 Status Commission) DOB: May 27, 1931 Michael Helfer (Legal Counsel for Marianas Political Status Commission) DOB: August 2, 1945 Jay Lapin (Legal Counsel for Marianas Political Status

Commission) DOB: July 15, 1945 James R. Leonard (Consultant for Marianas Political

Status Commission) DOB: January 5, 1933 James White (Executive Director, Marianas Political Status Commission) DOB: July 3, 1933

Office for Micronesian Status Negotiations

Ambassador F. Haydn Williams + Wife - Secretary
Mary Vance Trent
Adrian de Graffenried

Doris Treak

David Schiele Stephen Loftus Richard Wyttenbach Roger Crump Keith Caplinger Marianne Long Colleen Greer