

United States Department of the Interior F619

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY WASHINGTON, D.C. 20240

JUL 1 1 1975

Dear Mr. President:

I am pleased to inform you of and to enclose herewith a copy of the official certification of the results of the June 17, 1975, plebiscite in the Marianas Islands District. Your Plebiscite Commissioner, Mr. Erwin Dain Canham has certified that 78.8% of the registered voters cast their ballots in favor of the "Covenant to Establish a Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands in Political Union with the United States of America."

Respectfully yours,

Secretary of the Interior

The President The White House Washington, D.C. 20500

**Enclosure** 





## Photocopy from Gerald R. Ford Library

## OFFICE OF THE PLEBISCITE COMMISSIONER

Mariana Islands District Saipan, Mariana Islands 96950

Erwin D. Canham
Plebiscite Commissioner

Post Office Box 185 Capitol Hill Rural Branch

June 22, 1975

The Honorable Stanley K. Hathaway Secretary of the Department of the Interior Washington, D. C. 20240

Dear Mr. Secretary:

With this letter I am gratified to certify the results of the plebiscite held in the Northern Mariana Islands on June 17, 1975 to determine whether the people of these islands, pursuant to their right of self-determination, wish to become a Commonwealth of the United States in accordance with the terms of the Covenant signed on February 15, 1975.

I hereby certify that 5,005 qualified and registered voters cast valid ballots. Of these 3,945 voted in favor of the Covenant and 1,060 voted against. Thus 78.8% of the valid ballots favored the Covenant.

The final figures are increased by six (6) voters over the earlier unofficial totals because a re-examination of the Rota ballots indicated that four (4) previously held to be invalid were in fact valid, and two (2) additional absentee ballots were cast in the Northern Islands.

You will note that, including some invalid ballots, about 95% of the registered voters actually cast ballots in this free election.

Respectfully,

Erwin D. Canham

Plebiscite Commissioner

Ellin J. Conham