#### THE WHITE HOUSE

WASHINGTON

# SIGNING CEREMONY FOR H. J. RES. 549/ THE NORTHERN MARIANAS COVENANT

Wednesday, March 24, 1976 3:00 p.m. (15 minutes) The East Room

From: Brent Scowcroft /



## I. PURPOSE

To sign H. J. Resolution 549 "to establish a commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands in Political Union with the United States and for other purposes."

## II. BACKGROUND, PARTICIPANTS & PRESS ARRANGEMENTS

A. Background: On July 1, 1975, you transmitted the Northern Marianas Commonwealth Covenant to the United States Congress for its consideration. This action followed approval of the Covenant by the people of the Northern Marianas in a plebiscite held by the United States under United Nations Trusteeship Council observation on June 17, 1975. Of the registered voters, 95 percent participated, and of those who voted, 78.8 percent voted in favor of the Covenant.

The House of Representatives passed H. J. Res. 549 by unanimous voice vote on July 21, 1975. The Bill encountered some serious opposition in the Senate Armed Services and Foreign Relations Committees, but eventually both of these committees as well as the Interior Committee reported out the resolution. The full Senate passed H. J. Res. 549 on February 24 by a vote of 66-23.

B. Participants: A group of over 200 will attend the ceremony.

(A full list of participants will be provided separately).

Sitting with you on the stage will be a delegation of about 20 from the Northern Marianas (the leaders will be Edward D. L. G. Pangelinan, Chairman of the Marianas Political Status Commission -- with whom you met in the Oval Office last March -- and Vicente Santos, President of the Marianas District Legislature), the Chairmen of the relevant Congressional committees,

Cabinet members and your Personal Representative for Micronesian Status Negotiations, Ambassador F. Haydn Williams.

C. Press Arrangements: The ceremony will be televised.

## III. TALKING POINTS

Robert Hartmann will provide a formal statement for you to read. The following points are for use in the course of the ceremony.

# With Ambassador F. Haydn Williams, Your Personal Representative for Micronesian Status Negotiations

- -- Haydn, you have served four years in what was supposed to be a rather brief assignment. But the length of time it took to negotiate the Covenant and to win Congressional approval shows the seriousness with which everyone approached the matter.
- -- You have done an excellent job, not only in negotiating with the people of the Northern Marianas but also in your representations to Congress.
- -- I am grateful that the Asia Foundation has so generously allowed you to give us so much of your time (Ambassador Williams is President of the Asia Foundation).

## With Congressmen

- -- This is a major piece of legislation. It has historic significance in many respects.
- -- I am grateful for the good work that each of you did in getting this legislation approved.
- -- Congress' acceptance of the Covenant underscores the American seriousness of purpose in the Pacific and throughout the Trust Territory.

- -- We can be proud because the entire procedure has demonstrated U.S. respect for the process of self-determination.
- -- The establishment of a permanent commonwealth with the Northern Marianas will promote the cause of peace and stability in the Western Pacific. It will assure that those strategically located islands will not again become the object of international rivalry and armed hostility.

# With the Delegation from the Northern Marianas

- -- It is most appropriate that we are signing the Covenant this Bicentennial year. It will be a great honor to have the people of the Northern Marianas as fellow Americans.
- -- Although you will not be officially a part of the United States for a few more years, from here on we will look upon you as compatriots. We are honored that the people of the Northern Marianas have desired for so long to be a part of the American community.
- -- I was in the Western Pacific during the war. I know how beautiful are the Mariana Islands and how friendly its people.

The President Secretary Rumsfeld Attorney General Levi Jack Marsh Rogers Morton General Brent Scowcroft Max Friedersdorf Bill Baroody Jim Cannon Alan Greenspan Ron Nessen Bill Seidman Charles Leppert Tom Loeffler Bill Kendall Joe Jenckes Bob Wolthuis Russell Rourke Les Janka Cathy DeSibour Royston Hughes Larry Cardwell

#### Senate

Howard Baker Dewey Bartlett Quentin Burdick James Eastland Platform Platform Paul Fannin Platform Hiram Fong Platform Bob Griffin Mark Hatfield Ernest Hollings Jacob Javits Bennett Johnston Platform James McClure Thomas McIntyre Platform John Sparkman Ted Stevens Stuart Symington Strom Thurmond

## Participants Continued

#### House

Robert Bauman Robin Beard Jeime Benitez C Don Bonker Wm. Broomfield IR Platform Herb Burke Phil Burton Bob Carr C Don Clausen - Platform Cardiss Collins Ron Dellums Ron deLugo ∽ Ed Derwinski IR Wm. Dickinson IR Charles Diggs Thomas Downey IR L.H. Fountain IR Donald Frascr To Benjamin Gilman I 2 Platform James Haley 4 Lee Hamilton IR Michael Harrington IR IR Wayne Hays IR Floyd Hicks Marjorie Holt Allan Howe 💪 Harold T. Johnson C Jim Johnson C AbrahamKazen 💪 Wm. Ketchum C Platform Robert Lagomarsino C Robert Leggett. Jim Lloyd Manuel Lujan C Larry McDonald Spark Matsunaga Lloyd Meeds C John Welcher C Leadership Bob Michel George Miller C Patsy Mink Don Mitchell

Thomas Morgan Charrman Maffe Lucien Nedzi Rill Nichols Robert Nix George O'Brien Shirley Pettis C Platform Melvin Price William Randall Theodore Risenhover Teno Roncalio G Harold Runnels C Philip Ruppe C Leo Ryan Jim Santini C Keith Sebelius C Richard Schulze c Platform Joe Skubitz Virginia Smith Stephen Solarz Floyd Spence Robert Stephens C Steven Symms 🔾 James Weaver C -Charles Whalen Platform Bob Wilson Charles Wilson Antonio Borja Won Pat C Don Young Lester Wolff Clement Zablocki

# Participants Continued

#### Others

Morton Abramowitz Francisco C. Ada Christine Allwine Lt. Col. Walter W. Appelle, Jr. Antonio C. Atalig Robert Barton James Beirne James Berg Olympio T. Borja-PHTFIAM George S. Brown Juan LG. Cabrera Joseph Calvo Erwin D. Canham Kit Caples Keith K. Caplinger William Clements Charles Conklin Peter Tali Coleman Winfred Craft William J. Crowe, Jr. Roger L. Crump Adrian de Graffenried Jeanne Delsener Francisco M. Diaz Dennis Doolin Nancy Drake Daniel Dreyfus Roscoe Drummond Tom Dunmire Ricardo R. Duenas Lester Edmond James Elster Paul Freedenburg Kent Frizzell Colleen Greer Lorenzo I. Guerrero Philip Habib

Michael Helfer

Eni Hunkin Robert Ingersoll O. Thomas Johnson Ed Kenney Harmon Kirby John Kyl Jay Lapin James Leonard Samuel W. Lewis Harrison Loesch Stephen A. Loftus, Jr. Marianne Long Arlene Lum Santiago B. Magofna Herman Marcuse Mike Marden Lee McElvaine Clark McFadden Felipe Mendiola Daniel T. Muna-platform Manuel D. Muna-William Nabors Larry Nakatsuka Misael Ogo Avis O'Leary Edward DLG. Pangelinan-Platform Joaquin I. Pangelinan - PIAT FORM Eiler Ravenholt Manuel A. Sablan-Platform Vicente D. Sablan Donald Sanders Vicente N. Santos PIATFORM Antonin Scalia David L. Schiele Richard Y. Scott Col. Athol M. Smith Christopher Squire

Andre Surena

# Others

Pedro A. Tenorio Platform
Donald n Donald R. Toussaint Doris Treakle Mary V. Trent Howard Willens - PATFORM

F. Haydn Williams - PATFORM

Margaret Williams Margaret Williams Richard Williams Molly Williamson James M. Wilson Adrian Winkel Richard Wyttenbach Fred M. Zeder

Photocopy from Gerald R. Ford Library