## OFFICE FOR MICRONESIAN STATUS NEGOTIATIONS EXECUTIVE

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20240

April 1, 1976

5151 FG1-21

Memorandum

To:

Mr. Paul Manafort, The President's Personnel Office

From:

Director, Office for Micronesian Status Negotiations

Subject:

Presidential Party to the Northern Mariana Islands

In order to follow up your telephone conversation of this morning with Ambassador Williams, I am sending you this memorandum which lists in order of his desired priority those persons whom he would very much like to be members of the Presidential party. All have been closely associated with the development of the Covenant for the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas and their presence would be most appropriate.

I shall be happy to discuss this or related matters further with you, as you may wish.

Ambassador and Mrs. F. Haydn Williams

Mr. and Mrs. Erwin Canham, Plebiscite Commissioner

Mr. and Mrs. Fred Zeder, Director, Office of Territorial Affairs Mr. James M. Wilson, Jr., State RAdm. William J. Crowe, Jr., Department of Defense

Miss Mary Vance Trent, Acting Director, OMSN

Mr. Herman Marcuse, Justice

Captain Richard Scott, DOTA

Mr. David Schiele, OMŚN

Mr. Adrian de Graffenried, OMSN

Cdr. Richard H. Wyttenbach, OMSN Mr. Thomas Barnes, National Security Council

Mr. Keith Caplinger, OMSN

Miss Doris Treakle, Secretary of the U.S. Delegation

Mrs. Marianne Long, OMSN

Miss Colleen Greer, OMSN

Mrs. Molly Williamson, State

Mr. Richard Williams, State

Ambassador Williams suggests that the following members of the Senate be invited:

Senator J. Bennett Johnston Senator James A. McClure Senator Charles H. Percy Senator Strom Thurmond





## Alternates or additions:

Senator Paul J. Fannin

Senator Hubert Humphrey or Senator Gale W. McGee

Senator Barry Goldwater

Senator Hiram L. Fong or Senator Daniel K. Inouye

Additionally, Mr. James Beirne of the Senate Interior/ Insular Affairs Committee.

## He would like to include the following members of the House:

Congressman Phillip Burton Congressman Don H. Clausen Congressman Lloyd Meeds Congressman William M. Ketchum

## Alternatives or additions:

Congresswoman Patsy Mink Congressman Antonio Won Pat Congressman Lagomarsino, Robert J.

Also it would be appropriate to include Mr. Adrian Winkel of the House Sub-committee on Territorial and Insular Affairs.

Mary Vance Trent Phone: 343-9143

G. FOR DISBRAR