Office of the White House Press Secretary

.

NOTICE TO THE PRESS

The President today selected a delegation to represent the United States in official ceremonies in the Northern Marianas to celebrate the President's signing of legislation for a covenant to establish a Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas Islands in political union with the United States.

Members of the delegation are:

Ambassador F. Haydn Williams, who is the Personal Representative of the President for Micronesian Status Negotiations with the rank of Ambassador. He will be head of the delegation.

Erwin Canham, who served as the Plebiscite Commissioner and will serve as the High Commissioner of the Northern Marianas.

Fred Zeder, who is High Commissioner of the Trust Territories. He will represent the Department of Interior and the Office of Territorial Affairs.

Rear Admiral George Morrison, he will represent the Department of Defense.

Thomas Barnes, he is Senior Staff for East Asian Affairs, National Security Council.

James M. Wilson, Jr., he is Senior State Dapartment Officer who served as Ambassador Williams' Deputy during the negotiations.

Herman Marcuse, he is Senior Lawyer at Department of Justice's Law Counsel, represented the Department during the negotiations.

Mary Trent, she will represent the Office of Micronesian Negotiations. She is Director of the Office of Micronesian Negotiations.

The group will depart Washington on Saturday, April 17 and will arrive in Saipan on Monday. They will return to the United States on April 21.

#

H