29

June 1, 1976

ST ST Morthern Marianal G12 PR1-1

Dear Mr. Pangelinan:

It was a special pleasure to welcome you to the White House for the signing of the Joint Resolution of the Congress approving the Northern Mariana Islands Commonwealth Covenant. As I said on that occasion, this covenant reaffirms our commitment to the principles of self-determination, and it honors the freely expressed wishes of the peoples of these islands for the political union with the United States. The beautiful carving which you and the Honorable vicente Santos presented will serve as a permanent remembrance of a very important moment in our Nation's history.

With warm best wishes.

Sincerely,

Honorable Edward D. L. G. Pangelinan Chairman Marianas Political Status Commission Saipan, Mariana Islands 96950

GRF/mfw/mh/mw

GIFT

7

JUN 4 1976

RECEIVED

CENTRAL FILES

30 parving

NOTICE TO THE PRESS

3:00 p.m.

Signing of H. J. Res. 549 - Marianas Covenant.

The East Room

(Standing behind the President)

Representative Joe Skubitz
Senator Bennett Johnston
Representative Don Clausen
Senator Ted Stevens
Senator Hiram Fong
Representative Phil Burton
Representative Spark Matsunaga
Representative Shirley Pettis
F. Haydn Williams, Ambassador
Senator Paul Fannin
Senator Howard Baker

Vincente Santos, President of the Marianas District Legislature

Edward D. L. G. Pangelinan, Chairman of the Marianas Political Status Commissic

(Presented wood carving to the President)

Howard Willens, Former Consul to the Marianas Representative James Haley

#

*FYI - met the President in the Oval Office last March, per scenario.



John Roberts from the Press Office witnessed the ceremony. He advised that.....

Vicente Santos, carried the plaque to the President after Pangelinan read it, and he (Roberts) suggested that the gifts (plaque and carving) are from both gentlemen and a thankyou should go to each.

Proper form of address for both gentlemen checked out with State & Interior and is attached.

The Honorable
Edward D. L. G. Pangelinan
Chairman
Marianas Political Status Commission
Saipan, Mariana Islands 96950

The Honorable
Vicente N. Santos
President of the Mariana Islands
District Legislature
Saipan, Mariana Islands 96950



Source: Libby Denham at State (she, in turn, checked with Offide of Micronesian Status Negotiations at Interior, Phone: 343-9143).

製。 . .

Office of the White House Press Secretary

THE WHITE HOUSE

STATEMENT BY THE PRESIDENT

I would like to take this opportunity to extend to the people of the Northern Mariana Islands my personal greetings and to convey to them my pleasure with the results of the plebiscite held on June 17, 1975. I have been informed that a substantial majority has voted in favor of the Commonwealth Convenant in free and open balloting observed by the United Nations and preceded by a fair and impartial education program. I wish personally to congratulate and commend all of those who were responsible for the conduct of the plebiscite, including the Plebiscite Commissioner and his staff, the Voter Registration Board and the Plebiscite Advisory Committee.

The people of the Northern Marianas have now spoken. The next step will be consideration of the Covenant by the Congress of the United States. I intend to submit without delay the Covenant to the Congress with my strong endorsement for its early favorable action. It is my earnest hope that we may look forward to further steps in the near future which will move the people of the Northern Mariana Islands still closer to the long-desired ultimate goal of political union with the United States. I know the American people join with me in sending to the people of the Northern Mariana Islands our warmest regards.

#



```
5
6
```

```
Marianas Delegation
Edward DLG. Pangelinan (Chairman, Marianas Political Status Commission) DOB: October 24, 1941
  Pedro Tenorio (Senator, Congress of Micronesia)
DOB: August 8, 1941
      Manuel A. Sablan, DOB: December 27, 1944
Vicente N. Santos (President, Mariana Islands District Legislature) DOB: December 2, 1933
      Olympio T. Borja (Senator, Congress of Micronesia)
        DOB: July 26, 1930
      Antonio C. Atalig, DOB: December 31, 1923
      Misael Ogo, DOB: January 14, 1940
      Felipe C. Mendiola, DOB: August 16, 1911 Fought all the way
      Vicente D. Sablan, DOB: January 23, 1924
      Joaquin I. Pangelinan, DOB: June 21, 1942
      Francisco C. Ada, DOB: September 26, 1934
      Lorenzo I. Guerrero, DOB: January 25, 1935
      Daniel T. Muna, DOB: January 8, 1937
       Santiago B. Magofna, DOB: March 28, 1932
       Ricardo Duenas, DOB: September 15, 1940
       Francisco Diaz, DOB: October 8, 1936
       Juan Cabrera, DOB: May 2, 1934
       Manuel D. Muna, DOB: December 24, 1936
       William Nabors (Legal Counsel for Mariana Islands
         District Legislature) DOB: June 28, 1933
       Howard P. Willens (Legal Counsel for Marianas Political
         Status Commission) DOB: May 27, 1931
       Michael Helfer (Legal Counsel for Marianas Political
         Status Commission) DOB: August 2, 1945
       Jay Lapin (Legal Counsel for Marianas Political Status
         Commission) DOB: July 15, 1945
       James R. Leonard (Consultant for Marianas Political
         Status Commission) DOB: January 5, 1933
       James White (Executive Director, Marianas Political
```

Status Commission) DOB: July 3, 1933 Office for Micronesian Status Negotiations

Ambassador F. Haydn Williams + Wife Mary Vance Trent Adrian de Graffenried David Schiele Stephen Loftus

Richard Wyttenbach Roger Crump Keith Caplinger Marianne Long Colleen Greer



Secretary Doris treak