HH TUNDO

THE WHITE HOUSE

WASHINGTON

November 30, 1979

MEMORANDUM FOR ARNIE MILLER

FROM:

STU EIZENSTAT

SUBJECT:

Northern Mariana Islands Commission on Federal Laws

The 1976 Covenant to establish the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands required the appointment of a seven member Commission on Federal Laws. The panel is to make recommendations to the Congress as to which Federal laws should be applicable and which inapplicable to the territory within one year of termination of the current United Nations trusteeship.

According to Section 504 of P.L. 92-241, "The Commission will consist of seven persons (at least four of whom will be citizens of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands who are and have been for at least five years domiciled continuously in the Northern Mariana Islands at the time of their appointment) who will be representative of the federal, local, private and public interests in the applicability of laws to the Northern Mariana Islands."

- I recommend that the President appoint the following people to the panel. My recommendations differ in two instances from those submitted by Secretary Andrus (whose department has assumed jurisdiction for the N.M.I. due to their assigned responsibility for other territories). My office has discussed these with Interior and Peggy Rainwater of your staff.
- 1. James A. Joseph, Under Secretary of the Interior. Mr. Joseph should be designated as Chairman.
- 2. Phillip Burton, Congressman from the Sixth District of California. Mr. Burton has been a member of Congress since 1964 and is now the Chairman of the Subcommittee on National Parks and Insular Affairs of the House Interior Committee. Mr. Burton was instrumental in the effort to obtain Congressional approval for the Northern Marianas Covenant. He is a lawyer.

- *3. Jeffrey L. Farrow, who is handling issues concerning the insular areas on my staff.
- 4. Jesus C. Borja, Assistant Director, Micronesian Legal Services Corporation, Saipan, Mariana Islands. Mr. Borja was graduated from the Georgetown University Law Center in 1974. Mr. Borja was nominated by the Governor of the Northern Mariana Islands.
- 5. Agnes M. McPhetres, researcher with the Northern Marianas Vocational Advisory Council. Mrs. McPhetres was the Northern Marianas Director for the White House Conference on Handicapped Individuals and the 1978 Chairperson, International Women's Year, for the Trust Territory and the Northern Marianas. Mrs. McPhetres was nominated by the Governor of the Northern Mariana Islands.
- 6. Edward DLG. Pangelinan, the recently re-elected Northern Mariana Islands Representative to the United States. Mr. Pangelinan was the Chairman of the Marianas Political Status Commission that negotiated the Covenant with the United States. Mr. Pangelinan was nominated by both the Governor and the Legislature of the Northern Mariana Islands.
- *7. Pedro A. Tenorio, Executive Director of the Northern Mariana Public Lands Corporation. A former N.M.I. Senator, Mr. Tenorio was a member of the Marianas Political Status Commission and headed the office which planned the islands' transition to self-government. Mr. Tenorio was nominated by the Legislature of the Northern Mariana Islands.

Because of sensitive issues which have developed since the creation of the Commonwealth in 1977, it is important that this already funded panel begin to function as soon as possible. Accordingly, I request your expeditious handling of this matter.

*My changes.