

THE PRESIDENT'S PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE FOR MICRONESIAN STATUS NEGOTIATIONS WASHINGTON, D.C. 20240

January 28, 1980

MEMORANDUM FOR THE MICRONESIA INTERAGENCY GROUP

FROM: Peter R. Rosenblatt

SUBJECT: Compact of Free Association

Enclosed is the Compact of Free Association which we completed at the Kona round and which I initialled with Marshall Islands President Amata Kabua.

We hope to obtain the adherence of the Federated States of Micronesia to the Compact after state and national level leadership completes its review, probably in early March. The Seventh Palau Legislature will, we are informed, appoint a new political status commission within the next few weeks. The Palau delegation at Kona told us that they expect the new commission will want to work with us to reach agreement quickly. Keith Guthrie and Reno Harnish will soon travel to Ponape and Palau, respectively, and should have more information for us.

OMSN has started to gear-up for the drafting, coordination and subsequent negotiation of the several subsidiary separate agreements listed in Section 462 of the Compact. We will be in contact with you to coordinate any agreements affecting your agency.

I expect to leave for the Western Pacific area on or about February 7. The purpose of my visit will be to brief the U. S. regional chiefs of mission conference in Singapore and then to brief the governments of various influential nations of the region.

Peter R. Rosenblatt

Distribution:

```
Matthew Nimetz, State (1)
William Bodde, State (25)
Russell Surber, State (1)
Philip Barringer, Defense-OSD (5)
COL W.M. Craig, Defense-OJCS (1)
Ruth Van Cleve, Interior (5)
Herman Marcuse, Justice (5)
David H. Wallace, Commerce (NOAA) (1)
Brian Hoyle, Commerce (NOAA) (1)
Donald Gregg, NSC (2)
Jeffery Farrow, (2)
Ron Cogswell, OMB (3)
RADM John D. Costello, USCG (5)
Cynthia S. Anthony, Transportation (1)
Daniel A. Strasser, USUN (5)
Ruth C. Clusen, Energy (1)
Dr. Bruce W. Wachholz, Energy (1)
William Hedemann, EPA (3)
Barbara Bramble, CEQ (1)
Michael Kurman, Interior (1)
Nels Johnson, NOAA-US Weather Service (2)
Lee Jett, FAA (2)
Paul Schmidt, Justice-INS (1)
Craig Annear, FEMA (1)
Peter Schwarzkopf, CAB (1)
Stanley Langbein, Treasury (1)
Edgar Stock, U.S. Postal Service (2)
Adrian P. Winkel, TTPI (5)
CDR Barry Coats, CINCPACREP GUAM/TTPI (3)
COL Arthur C. Evans, CINCPAC (2)
D. Keith Guthrie, SLNO-Saipan (5)
COL Roy Brown, BMDSCOM (1)
Frank Washington, FCC (1)
Michael Hathaway, (1)
```