

EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT OFFICE OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET WASHINGTON, D.C. 20503

NSC

ENROLLED BILL REQUEST

December 13, 1985

TO:

LEGISLATIVE LIAISON OFFICERS:

-- Distribution List Attached

SUBJECT:

ENROLLED RESOLUTION HJRes 187 -- Compact of Free Association

We expect the Senate to approve and send to the President HJRes 187 at any moment. This resolution embodies the Compact of Free Association, proposed by the President on March 30, 1984 and resubmitted by him on February 20, 1985. Text of the resolution as passed by the House (and we expect no changes in the Senate) appears on pages H11721-11742 of the Congressional Record for December 10, 1985, subject to 5 technical changes that appear on page H11838 of the Record for December 11, 1985.

Although modified from the version submitted by the President, the Administration expressed its support for the enrolled bill prior to clearance by each House. Presidential action on this bill is expected before the end of next week. Please consider this a request for your agency's views on the enrolled resolution in accordance with OMB Circular No. A-19. Review the aforementioned pages of the Record and supply this office with your recommendation (a call to Randy Coleman at 395-6194 will suffice for the majority of agencies that see no need for a formal letter) by noon Monday, 12/16/85. Your cooperation in meeting this deadline is needed to provide time for Presidential action on the enrolled resolution.

You may send an advance copy of your views letter on the telecopier by calling 395-3130.

JAMES M. FREY

Assistant Director for Legislative Reference

DISTRIBUTION LIST FOR HJRes 187

at the Ronald Re

Office of Micronesian Status Negotiations Dept of Interior - J. Britt - 343-6797 (16) Dept of State - LeeAnne Berkenbile - 632-0430 (25) Dept of Defense - Werner Windus - 697-1305 (06) Dept of Energy - Bob Rabben - 252-6718 (09) Dept of Justice - J. Perkins - 633-2113 (17) Dept of Health & Human Services - F. White - 245-7750 (14) Dept of Agriculture - Sid Clemans - 382-1516 (01) Dept of Education - Joanne Durako - 732-2670 (07) Dept of Commerce - Mike Levitt - 377-3151 (04) Dept of Treasury - Carol Toth - 566-8523 (28) US Trade Representative - Alan Holmer - 395-3150 (23) Postal Service - Fred Eggleston - 268-2958 (11) Small Business Administration - J. Perrignon - 653-7581 (24) Dept of Labor - Seth Zinman - 523-8201 (18) Environmental Protection Agency - S. Overman - 382-5414 (08) FEMA - George Jett - 646-4105 (10) General Services Administration - Ted Ebert - 566-1250 Council on Environmental Quality - Dinah Bear National Security Council - W. Robert Pearson Central Intelligence Agency - Steve Hermes Advisory Council on Historic Preservation - John Fowler Federal Communications Commission - Jackson Lee